Parental Router which one !!

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by [email protected], Jan 8, 2012.

  1. Littleted@gmail

    [email protected]
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leeds UK
    Ratings:
    +10
    Ok guys im running the 50mb Virgin into the normal black PS3 looking Virgin termination box, off that i have a Netgear WDR2000 and in all fairness the netgear has been bulletproof, more than i can say for the old one i had the dreaded 834GT.

    anyway the router has a few blocking features but nothing nice.

    I want a new Ethernet based router that does the folowing

    MAC Address blocks or likewise using Time.
    Site Blocks
    Wireless time switch so the radio go on and off possibly.
    maybe even an automated shutdown of router than back on in the morning

    Ive not yet moved to the Virgin superhibs, as i hear bad stories from my m8s with dropped connections etc.

    Anyway i did fancy that new netgear N900 but its 180 quid and unsure if it will offer me what i need

    I used to like Draytek Vigours, but i had a bad run with them, and ended up talking to china about a major bug that caused them to lockup if hammering port 119 or any newsgroups with mass thruput, they ended up saying they couldnt solve it so i sacked them off.

    Anyone know of any good sub 150 quid routers offering nice kids safe features.

    thanks

    P.S or is there is anything i can add to my setup to enable something.
     
  2. thebiznes

    thebiznes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +41
    You could always try a PF sense which is a firewall router solution, but would require an old PC or low pc hardware. It will restrict everything you want and do pratically everything simply. Very easy to setup too. Maybe it would be a good idea to install virtual box on your pc then take it for a test run first.

    http://www.pfsense.org/

    These linux firewalls with Intrusion detection and things like squid etc offer really good features. If you have better PC hardware try untangle also good. I have mine running on a HP Microserver which I bought for media storage about £120 also a very good bit of kit. The pfsense runs in a Virtual machine on windows 2008.

    Pfsense is completely free and very good software.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2012
  3. Littleted@gmail

    [email protected]
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leeds UK
    Ratings:
    +10
    Thanks

    Ive seen these Microservers they look good, I remember long ago i used smoothwall at work and it was pretty good.
    I,ll check out these 2 many thanks

    ted
     
  4. TooManyHobbies

    TooManyHobbies
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +13
  5. bilbonvidia

    bilbonvidia
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Netgear opendns live parental controls, see the netgear website for which router supports it.
    NETGEAR Live Parental Controls Demo


    Wit regards to the ealier comment on pf sense running on a virtual machine. Can this be done while still using the host machine as the main family machine rather than setting up and extyra machine to sit between the router the family machine and the rest of the network?
     
  6. thebiznes

    thebiznes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +41
    Yes it can be setup that way in a virtual machine. Basically the pfsense would give a DHCP address to the other machines. It might be a easier way to control your network knowing once your main PC is shut off the kids have no access to the internet also.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice