1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

panoramic query

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by cuthbertson74, May 24, 2003.

  1. cuthbertson74

    cuthbertson74
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    hi,

    this is probably a dumb question, but what the heck.

    i currently have a canon ixus APS, but am thinking about replacing it with a digital ixus. as i've gotten used to the ability to take panoramic shots, i was just wondering how this works with digital cameras?

    i've seen features such as *stich assistant* - does this put shots together so that you can produce a single print, or does it just do a better job of lining adjoining shots up, and adjusting light etc?

    'scuse the newbie!

    cheers
    iain
     
  2. TommyVecetti

    TommyVecetti
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +95
    You should get a digital camera that can take an adapter for a wide angle lense to be honest.

    Have a look at Cannons mid range digital cameras and get one that you can get a wide angle lense for. You can stich pictures together afterwards, but it's a time wasting pain.
     
  3. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    I've got a Canon S30 and it has a stick facility on the camera.
    You set it to photo stich and it splits the screen and when you take the first picture it keeps part on screen so you can line it up. Take as many as you want and then download the pics to the PC. Open the Canon photo stich programme and tell it which pics to stich and it does it all for you. Takes around a minute and does line up the pics automatically. See my attachment of Manhatten.

    Mark.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. cuthbertson74

    cuthbertson74
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    cheers for that. i take it any stitched shot like that can be processed at boots or wherever, without having to be a standard size?

    good pic of nyc by the way - was there in jan, and have similar shots. was that from the circle line ferry?

    iain
     
  5. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    Thanks duklaprague.
    Shot was taken from Brooklyn just by the bridge.
    I was lucky enough to be there just as the war started
    :rolleyes:
    I print all my own digi pics from my PC, so have no idea as to what can be printed but would guess it would be ok.

    Mark.
     

Share This Page

Loading...