1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

pannyw6b & tuner

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by patmyhead, Sep 14, 2003.

  1. patmyhead

    patmyhead
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    I o M
    Ratings:
    +1
    hi was about to get the new philips plasma but on reading what you guys say about the panny 6 series i am haveing second thoughts
    i can get the th42pw6b silver for £2889.98
    the pta600b tuner for £359.98
    ty-scp15c03 tunerlead for £129.25
    apart from a stand is this all i need to watch tv
    total cost of this lot £3379.21 about £120 less than the philips & a better picture yes??????????
    the other route to go would be to forget the tuner & get the various board inputs is this a better way to go as picture quality is the bottom line
    as i have a denon amp that upconverts video signals to component would a component lead be all that i require as with my PJ or would direct conection give a better signal
    any thoughts more than wellcom
    P@T
     
  2. patmyhead

    patmyhead
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    I o M
    Ratings:
    +1
    are the input boards just plug in or do they require fitting by dealer?
     
  3. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,594
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +281
  4. patmyhead

    patmyhead
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    I o M
    Ratings:
    +1
    thanks steve
    that leaves me out then
    have to get the wife to do it
     
  5. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,594
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +281
    :laugh:

    Steve
     
  6. deman77

    deman77
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    260
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    patmyhead,

    the boards only fit one way, so you can't fit them wrong.

    make a search on the tuner in this forum. i wouldn't want it for free. if you want an analog tuner get yourself a second hand good quality vcr for a fraction of the money

    consider the offer from av-sales for pana6. they give you lots of freebies for 2900, although it's in black.
     
  7. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    For the money for the tuner you could get a Philips DVD-R, with RGB out, forget the VCR the picture will be abysmal.
     
  8. Andrew_B

    Andrew_B
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +2
    But Philips don't do DVD-R! Only the 'plus' format. Read the threads on +R vs -R before buying, if you do decide to use a DVD recorder as a tuner.
     
  9. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Ok Ok, I pressed the wrong button, but fact remains that a dvd recorder, whether + or - or ram is a better signal, and more future proof than a VCR. Try even an S-VHS recorder, but not a common or garden VHS with a plasma. I have an s-vhs, I wouldn't want even that as my only tuner, we use it largely for watching legacy VHS material, and the very occasional recording of cable material, it's off air recording is not really up to scratch.
     
  10. patmyhead

    patmyhead
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    I o M
    Ratings:
    +1
    deman77 i thought about this offer from av sales but the stuff they are bundleing with the screen apart from the stand is not any uce foe me my amp does all the swiching & upconverts to component & the leads are to short
    i have just orderd the pann 100 dvd recorder @ a bargan price of £360 or so see dvd forum though i dont think they will send it
    av sales do a analog tuner lotsof outputs

    now all i have to do is bite the bullet order the panny 6 in silver
    dont know where from though as tectronics is a lot cheaper than av sales
    P@T
    maw a dvd recorder is a good idea as a tuner i like it
     
  11. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Thanks, I've done one with a Philips, and a client of mine has a DMR HS2, he's just ditched his tuner (panny 5) and he's very pleased, got sky and the DMR. Wish his pronto would keep it's codes though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...