1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panny TH50PHD8 Colour banding question

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Madders, Oct 3, 2005.

  1. Madders

    Madders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +49
    Hi Guys,

    I'm considering getting one of these but my biggest bugbear with the PW6 I used to own was the colour banding. Can any owners of this or the 42" version let me know if this has been improved 2 generations on?

    Also, can I just hook a scaler (HD Leeza) straight into this screen and bypass all Panny scaling.

    Thanks,
    Steve
     
  2. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,808
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +681
    The colour banding on the PW6 was quite noticebale, however on my HD6 it is virtually non existent. I will have my 50PHD8 on the wall this afternoon so I will let you know how that compares.

    Yeah hooking the Leeza up at 1024x768/50/60 will be fine, you just adjust the H and V size to get it to snap in and bypass the internal processing.
     
  3. Madders

    Madders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +49
    Many thanks :thumbsup:
     
  4. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,808
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +681
    can't see any banding on the 50PHD8 either!. :smashin:

    Also, just been to my mates, he has just sent his Hitachi 6600 back and got the PW8 and there soesn't seem to be any banding on that either, also the scart input looks alot sharper going into the 8 series compared with before.
    He is really impressed with the PW8, he said he didn't realise the problems the Hitachi had until he sat in front of the PW8.
     
  5. kenji-san

    kenji-san
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hows the 50"er otherwise giz? living up to the expectations? :)
     
  6. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,808
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +681
    No where near as good as my 42PHD6! :(

    But I won't judge until I have given it a few hours to bed in, but first impressions seem as if it is not as analogue like if that makes sense.
     
  7. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,808
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +681
    One thing I will say is there is absolutely no fan noise, and even with my ear against the glass no buzzing at all.
    I can hear something when I put my ear behind the panel, but that is never going to happen.
    That is obviouly in the room with only the panel on.
     
  8. kenji-san

    kenji-san
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    give it a couple of days to settle in. :)
    hopefully, it should be a step forward, not backward.
    looking forward to hear more impressions. also interested to hear if you manage native res on hdmi/dvi cards in 50hz, if you've bought any of those.
     
  9. Madders

    Madders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +49
    I thought you were joking! :eek:
     
  10. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,808
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +681
    Ok, left it on around 2.30 and just got back in now, 7.30pm, and it is looking alot better already, it is looking more like the 6 series now and has lost that digital fizz. I was a bit worried as if it had stayed like that it would have had to go, so a big sigh of relief! :)

    I have a DVI board, seems that it likes more resolutions than the HDMI board so I will have a play over the next couple of days.
     
  11. philgreeen

    philgreeen
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    gizlaroc,

    Can you tell us what other equipment and connections you have with panel ? I'm particularly interested in this model and am looking to blow some obscene amounts of dosh on the best kit.... :thumbsup:
     
  12. madshi

    madshi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hamburg
    Ratings:
    +62
    @gizlaroc, I'm very interested in the results of your native resolution experiments... :D

    A side question: What viewing distance did you like best with your old 42" and which do you like best with your new 50"?
     
  13. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    Likewise on the native resolution via DVI question... I'll be very disappointed if it won't do 1366 x 768 via a digital connection...
     
  14. madshi

    madshi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hamburg
    Ratings:
    +62
    1366x768 with 60Hz should be no problem. But 1366x768 with 50Hz? Hmmm...
     
  15. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    You would think so, but it has been reported as not working on another thread...
     
  16. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,808
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +681
    Phil,

    I am using a Crystalio scaler, sdi sky box and sdi philips 963 dvd player.
    This is going abck top the screen with DVI and RGBhv to the 5 bnc board.


    OK I had a bit of a play last night with the DVI input, set it up with the Pixel magic disc to get 1:1 mapping and with the preinstalled settings for the 50PHD6 that is built into the Crystalio, this is obviously at 60Hz, and all I had to do was adjust the position and cloock phase. Easy! :)

    I spent just under an hour last night trying to get the DVI to look as good as RGBhv, I just couldn't do it. Black detail was lost compared to the RGB, and the whites seemed to look more digital, that sort of annoying tizz you get on cheaper plasmas.
    As I was using the Crystalio I could switch between RGBhv and DVI really quickly and it was obvious the analogue is so much better than DVI.

    On the Samsung LCD I tried the DVI was so much better than analogue, but I still think that hdmi/dvi is a crappy interface.
    I am sure the people who designed HDMI sat there and thought "lets come up with an all in one digital solution that includes hi-def copy protection" and not "Let's come up with a new interface that beats analogue at every level quality wise!".

    I quickly tried 720p at 50Hz and didn't have any joy with that, but to be honest by that point I had lost all interest in the digital input so didn't persue past the preset 720p/50 built into the scaler. Same with 1080i @ 50Hz.

    For now I Just don't think anthing can beat the analogue inputs, they are that good on the Panny, also lack of native res makes the digital inputs useless anyway, the difference between getting it 1:1 mapped and not quite (ie inputting native but not adjusting the size so it snaps in) is very apparent.
     
  17. madshi

    madshi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hamburg
    Ratings:
    +62
    The problem is that with BluRay + HD-DVD analog is no go.
     
  18. Saltrock

    Saltrock
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So would you say with a HDP and a PHD8 its worth getting the additional component out BNC board and output to the VGA(Component) or a component card on the panel?
     
  19. Treworgey

    Treworgey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guy,

    Do you know if the Crystalio is outputting 14bit resolution over DVI? Perhaps the DVI spec. doesn't even allow this? I guess internally Panasonic can make full use of the 14bits when converting Analogue to Digital to drive the display?
    Just thinking aloud!

    Guy, have you noticed any problems with black level fluctuations? From what I have read the 50 is better than the 42 in this respect anyway. This is currently my only concern with the Panny. (Sorry for wrong thread.)

    Cheers,

    Chris
     
  20. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,808
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +681
    Officially yeah! But that won't stop anyone. ;)


    Definitely, or even just go out VGA to the VGA on the panel.

    I don't know mate, I wouldn't have thought it is, however I would have thought that was more to do with banding than anything, that didn't seem to be too much of a problem, the image just didn't look right. If you had never seen analogue it probably wouldn't bother you, but I have been looking at analogue on a Panny PHD6 for a while now so notice straight away when something is not as good.

    No Black level fluctuations at all as far as I can see, seems rock solid, I saw it straight away on the 42PHD7.
     
  21. davsdu

    davsdu
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
  22. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,808
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +681
    You need a VGA-5BNC cable yeah. Your link doesn't work but I think you are meaning the Supra vga-bnc cable.
     
  23. davsdu

    davsdu
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Links work now ;)

    Would there be any difference in pq if I got a component board, instead of using the vga-input?
     
  24. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,808
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +681
    No not really, the best one to get is the RGBhv board with 5 BNC connectors on it.
    Then get a 5 bnc to 5 bnc cable made up using Belden 75ohm cable and Canare crimped plugs.
    May not look any better but you know you have a good connection so you won't be wondering, what if....?
     
  25. davsdu

    davsdu
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    If there isn't any difference (except for the natural "what if" doubt) I will save the money on a RGBhv board and stick with the supra cable. :)
     
  26. mine

    mine
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    88512 Mengen Germany
    Ratings:
    +0
    I pretty much understand what Giz means :

    some months ago I had a demonstration of a highly acclaimed Hi-Fi chain@a friend of mine
    all digital - all reference - all mark levinson -new klipsch horn

    i went back with him @ my house

    and ...we listened to a Thorens vinyl player -with sme arm -an EMT TSD 15 - Radford tube reference amplifier and a pair of Quad ESL 63 (20 years old)

    and at last it was music ...


    best

    mine (panta rei )...... greek (all flows)


    not in digits....
     
  27. Rahmorak

    Rahmorak
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    450
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lake District
    Ratings:
    +10
    Or the digital inputs are that bad. :)
     
  28. tjradiohead

    tjradiohead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    Has anyone tried running any 720p or 1080i games on the xbox with the phd8? What are the results like?
     
  29. Madders

    Madders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +49
    Wow! People have been busy whilst I wasn't looking. Great to hear the plasma has got better over time! I always prefered the analogue connection on my old PW6 to the DVI (both running at native res @60hz and 50Hz!!) There was always more "noise" in the picture with DVI - and the banding was more obvious.
     
  30. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,808
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +681
    Maybe?! :D

    Seriously though, the digital inputs are pretty much the same as every other plasma I have seen, but the analogue inputs look better than anything I have seen.
     

Share This Page

Loading...