Panny TH42PW6 and upgrading to HDMI/DVI

darkness1

Standard Member
Reaction score
I've been building my system for a few years now and bought a plasma finally last year. Now the plasma i have is a TH42PW6 which isn't a digital panel. From reading articles on the net i understand that digital is around the corner where sky will be broadcasting within a years time digital tv. So would it be best if i sold my panel locally before it's worthless when digital arrives
and upgrade now?

If not hows best to improve my system?

Panel pw6
Amp Yamaha dsp a2
dvd player Toshiba sd210
connection via component
fronts Mission 780's
Sub PSW 2500
Centre kef Q6C
Rears Q compacts

to improve quality i suggest a better DVD player, "digital" do you mean Hi - def? if so it is miles offf and compatible kit is expensive at the moment.......Why not upgrade DVD player get a scaler and have the lot calibrated? easy way to burn £1500 and will improve PQ as well :)

Thanks horny Dragon, what dvd player do you recommend? I have been looking at the panny dvd players/recorders with hdd like the dvdre85 etc. However i would demo both dvd player and dvd/recorder.
Plus do you have any scaler in mind?

IMO dvd recorders/ hdd combos compromise pic quality - you're better off getting a standalone deck - of which there are many, recommended in this forum over 400/500 quid (Arcam/Pioneer to name but a few) which will do your panny justice - remember however, it is a law of diminishing returns - you won't necessarily get a 5 times improvement by spending 5 times as much cash :lesson:

I guess an audition with a friendly retailer might be on the cards

for scaler the iscan HD/HD+ or Lumagen DVi are ideal (iscan have audio delay and easier to set-up) Lumagen more tweekable.........................