1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panny Th37pe50 (hdtv)

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by chief barker, Sep 10, 2005.

  1. chief barker

    chief barker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +236
    Hi fellas,

    I have just ordered this plasma and I am wondering (well... more worried) that when HDTV comes into effect will my t.v still work with this type of broadcast.

    I am curently using ntl.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. tscotsman

    tscotsman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    848
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    its not hd ready if thats what youre asking. it will display it but not at the HD resolutions. you need the 37pv500 for HD
     
  3. milkmanchris

    milkmanchris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +82
    But will the pq better than that of SD if you watch it through component?

    I have the 42" version of the same set.
     
  4. chief barker

    chief barker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +236
    WOW. :smashin:

    Thanks for your quick reply, all i was worried about was that when HDTV comes into effect my new screen would not be compatible, and would not be able to display anything.
     
  5. chief barker

    chief barker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +236

    Sorry I am new to this, What are you saying exactly? pq, sd?
     
  6. ukdan

    ukdan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    swindon
    Ratings:
    +84
    pq=picture quality , sd=standard definition(pal) hd=high definition
     
  7. tscotsman

    tscotsman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    848
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    it will display a slightly better picture but it will not display High Definition Pictures, since its not compatible, so very little point in worrying about HD.
     
  8. Sulis

    Sulis
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +1
    High Definition programmes will still look better on SD screens than DVD. But they'll look even better on HD screens, though not if you're far away.
     
  9. Steve_Whelan

    Steve_Whelan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    The Main problem with the PE50 is that it does not have a HDMI or VGA port, the initial trails of SKY HD and most likely BLUE-RAY and HD-DVD will allow a analogue conection via component, after the trials, most HD material will us HDCP encription which requires a HDMI port or a off borad decripter via VGA (possibly illegal), as the PE50 has neither HDMI or VGA this may cause problems long term.
     

Share This Page

Loading...