1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panny Terminal board

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by boogie man, Dec 17, 2002.

  1. boogie man

    boogie man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Sunny Berkshire !!
    Ratings:
    +1
    Right hope someone can help as my brain is well confused:confused:

    just about to order TH42PW5B with terminal board (TY42TM4Y) how do i connected sony dvp-s7700 dvd player which has scart rgb out & component out rca phono.

    1)Do i go scart rgb to component - SYNCBLASTER CABLE SCART TO 5 BNC 3.0m or SCART TO 3 BNC RGsB to the plasma

    or

    2)Do i go component 3 rca phono to component 3 bnc to the plasma

    just add more :confused: sky + box is connected (rgb) to dvd and outputing rgb via dvd player to the plasma which is best ..:rolleyes:

    many thanks boogie man
     
  2. boogie man

    boogie man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Sunny Berkshire !!
    Ratings:
    +1
    just to add one more thing

    would say for sky+ box to plasma not via dvd player

    SYNCBLASTER CABLE SCART TO 15 PIN HD SVGA work

    via the vga input

    please anyone:eek:

    boogie man
     
  3. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,408
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,589
    Boogie man

    Two quick questions:

    01. Does your Sony DVD player offer Progressive Scan on the Component video outs?

    02. Do you have an AV amp in the system that has Component video switching?

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  4. boogie man

    boogie man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Sunny Berkshire !!
    Ratings:
    +1
    hi Joe

    Just read the whole manual phew !! unable to find anything about saying Progressive Scan on the Component video outs?:eek:

    1)not to sure the Component out do (Y,Cb,/B-Y,Cr/R-Y) thats what it says in the manual ?? so for Progressive Scan not sure

    2)I have a DENON AVC A1SE which can do Component video switching

    thanks Boogie man

    thanks for the reply joe
     
  5. saggio

    saggio
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    With reference to the above solution from boogie man, is it equal or worst than the following?:

    RGB SCART out -> SCART2SCART cable (short) -> JS "RGB2PLASMA" box -> VGA cable -> PC input into TV

    and if you use the "Syncblaster2SVGA" as above, how do you exctact your Audio signal (to be sent to the AV amplifier instead of the Plasma?

    thanks
     
  6. boogie man

    boogie man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Sunny Berkshire !!
    Ratings:
    +1
    hi saggio

    on the sky+ box you have a digital output which is connected to the av amp for Audio ,The plasma is just going to be a monitor no sound for there at all.

    thanks boogie man
     
  7. saggio

    saggio
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    thank you Bogie Man,
    but I forgot to mention that I do not have a Sky+ box, but a Pace Telewest instead. So no separate Audio output. I have to break it out from the SCART...

    Is this Syncblaster from Keene any better tan the JS technology box?

    thanks.
     
  8. jont

    jont
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    near Aylesbury
    Ratings:
    +416
    Dr. John's RGB boxes do have a pair of phono sockets to break out the audio from the connected scart lead ...

    As for what's better do a search on the forum and you'll find a variety of user's views ... "you pay's your money, etc ..."
     

Share This Page

Loading...