1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panny series 6 HD - Panny series 6 buyers READ THIS ***

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by NeilMcRae, May 21, 2004.

  1. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    We got some of these in the office and I strongly recommend anyone who is considering using a PC [or US XBox] with a PWD6 to spend the extra cash and get the HD model. The difference is staggering. We put FarCry on a PC fed it via DVI and it is the nuts. Also I pluged in my NTSC Xbox with Steel Batallion Line of Contact in 720p mode and the extra detail is really apparent, the latest US dashboard also supports HD modes now and its awesome. going to try and take some pics to highlight the differences.

    Neil.
     
  2. Jenz

    Jenz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What Resolution were you running via DVI Neil?

    Regards *ahem* Neil :laugh:
     
  3. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,064
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,528
    Neil

    Personally I don't think the advantages of the PHD6 over the PWD6 are limited to higher resolution sources.

    The PDH6 doesn't suffer from the same banding issues I see on SKY and DVD with the PWD6 - though you do pay a big premium for the PHD6.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  4. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    1024*768 121 pixel mapped.

    Neil.
     
  5. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    I haven't noticed that will try a couple of DVD's on it.

    Neil.
     
  6. GarethH

    GarethH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2000
    Messages:
    325
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    I've got a PW6B and to be honest I'm glad I got the non HD model. Firstly the HD model has only 3000:1 contrast ratio, but you've gotta consider the price. I was only getting a Plasma cuz i found the decent models were so cheap to buy!

    When you start to go up to the £3,000 + you start to think is this too much money! Obviously if xbox and PC games are your idea then yes, but for DVD its not worth it! Blu-Ray is at least 2 years way, not to mention 3-4 years before you warant buying the format! By then, there will be true 1920x1280 Resolution Plasmas at around £2,000!
     
  7. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,985
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +132
    Neil (the moderator)

    How do you do the 1:1 pixel mapping?
     
  8. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6

    Gareth,
    If I put these two screens next to each other you would not be able to tell which had the greater contrast ratio. Yes there is price premium but in my view its well worth it.

    Neil.
     
  9. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6

    Run the screen at 1024*768 which is its natural resolution.

    Neil.
     
  10. kaspj

    kaspj
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2001
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    U.K.
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm with you Neil on this one. I'm delighted with my Panny6 HD and don't regret the extra £££ for that extra res. Sky+ looks excellant and DVD images from my DV27 are awesome (thanks Joe). :smashin:

    JP.
     
  11. andyatkins

    andyatkins
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Neil

    I'm also in the midst of deciding whetherto go for the SD or HD 6 series Panny. I'm a bit surprised you say PC display looksso good - given the HD is 1024x768 but in a 16:9 format does it not show a stretched 1024x768 PC image as the Pc is expecting it to be on a 4:3 display?
     
  12. rscott4563

    rscott4563
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,051
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1
    The PC is not expecting to output on to any specific sized screen, it will scale and resize the windows desktop to any resolution you tell it to, even games nowadays have builtin widescreen resolution options.

    I've had my PC wired up to my 50"HD Panny via VGA and running at 1366 x 768 and everything looked great, the only time something looks stretched is if you set an image which is originally 4:3 to fill the screen, then obviously it will be horizontally stretched.
     
  13. andyatkins

    andyatkins
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My point exactly - a 1024x768 PC image is for a 4:3 screen & hence would look stretched when displayed 1:1 on a 16:9 display...
     
  14. rscott4563

    rscott4563
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,051
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1
    But why would you want to show a 4:3 image?

    And if you must then why not just leave it unstretched..
     
  15. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,786
    I own an SD 42". On Friday I calibrated the first HD 42" I've come across. On leaving the clients home I immediately called Joe@ Media factory to ask how much I can get one for. Quuite frankly, in my opinion, there is no contest HD is ALOT better than SD version.

    Gordon
     
  16. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    :p thanks for that Gordon :p

    ad
     
  17. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,786
    Hey, I'm in the same boat...I got one too! So for anyone wanting to buy my SD unit can I just say that actually I am lying and it's just as good as the HD version. In fact, I am only wanting to get an HD version as Melanie is long sighted and can see the pixels on ours, ;)

    Gordon
     
  18. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    :D You already have me planning how to get one! I really should stop coming here.... I dont even need to see something new to want it anymore!

    ad
     
  19. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    You'd better make sure that you never see the 50" version then Ad...it would really show the full benefit of your forth comming Lumagen HDP ;)

    Cheers, Lee
     
  20. kwijibo

    kwijibo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +2
    Gordon/Joe,

    What are your thoughts on the PW6 HD against the Pioneer434MXE. I am sure DVD will look great, but I do watch alot of sports so sky has to look reasonable too.

    Thanks
     
  21. rscott4563

    rscott4563
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,051
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1
    and Ad you should try and avoid all of my posts after the middle of June, cause I'll probably be raving non stop about how great the new Lumagens look on the 50"... :D :laugh:
     
  22. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,786
    Well that is the question? ...MXE1 or 42HD...I will be visiting Joe to look in to that in order to make my decision as to way forward

    Gordon
     
  23. njr

    njr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    For those who have seen the Panny HD screen, how does it compare with the SD screen in terms of flicker? The Panny SD screen has a slight flicker which is clearly noticeable to me and is making me hesitant to buy one.

    Cheers, Neil
     
  24. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well 50 inch is a no way possible for me! There is a vague chance I might be able to get the 42 inch HD..... it is pretty much identical externally to the PW6?

    ad
     
  25. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,064
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,528
    Hello all

    NJR - the PHD6 has different screen driver technology to the PWD6 and doesn't suffer from the flicker you and others are aware of with the PWD6.

    kwijibo - as Gordon says watch this space; we've still to receive our first 43MXE1 so haven't undertaken a head to head as yet. We've had the Pioneer HDE's and the Panasonic PHD's for a while now and I think it'll be down to minor differences between a PHD6 and an MXE1; they will both be very relevant for you with a few minor variations to help sway you in one direction.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  26. samhain

    samhain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,704
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South West Scotland
    Ratings:
    +122
    Surely the whole point of the SD version is to be able to watch low res (normal) feeds like Sky and DVD up to Pal Progressive, in a sharper and clearer image.

    The HD screen scaling issues with these low res feeds means that the picture can look unacceptably soft..No ?
     
  27. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,064
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,528
    samhain

    If only it were so simple!

    All products are built to a price point and some of the differing (more expensive) technologies employed by Panasonic in the PHD6 models produce (for me) a more acceptable/enjoyable video image with SD signals than the less expensive PWD6 models produce.

    Best regards

    Joe

    PS The WHOLE point of both the PWD6 and PHD6 is to make PROFIT for Panasonic shareholders :D
     
  28. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    The big problem for me with the SD units is that you are loosing so much information.

    PAL sources are 576 lines but the SD panel can only show 480 :eek:

    That can't be a good thing in my book ;)

    Cheers, Lee
     
  29. samhain

    samhain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,704
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South West Scotland
    Ratings:
    +122
    Can't argue with that !
     
  30. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6

    You'd think so but it doesn't seem to be an issue. I'll take some snaps of it running and you can see for yourself. i've been testing in the office with Battlefield Vietnam, Farcry and they all look great on the screen.

    Neil.
     

Share This Page

Loading...