1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panny S97 HDMI/analogue feed

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by stanleyntl, Aug 23, 2005.

  1. stanleyntl

    stanleyntl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Worthing, Sussex
    Ratings:
    +44
    When HDMI is used can a separate analogue video/stereo feed be run from the player? either from scart or other connectors.
    Any settings to be changed to reflect this in player menus?
     
  2. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    I think it can as the HDMI section stays active even when you set it to off in the menus. I was using component and HDMI to switch between the two signals to see which look the best. so it should be possible. I have not tried it with Scart so just give it a go.
     
  3. stanleyntl

    stanleyntl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Worthing, Sussex
    Ratings:
    +44
    Gandley, out of interest if HDMI is set to off, what does the HDMI output?
    I take it the S97 only outputs progressive via HDMI - S97 will be partnered with a Hitachi 42PD7500 ALiS panel - which is line interlaced, so maybe full benefits of progressive are lost?
     
  4. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    When HDMI is set to off it just slips out the progressive signal you set before. All that happens is the menu system will now revert to component or scart settings etc.
    Im not up on alis panels but i thought they will still except a progressive signal in but from there im not sure if the signal is re-interlaced or whatever so i am not the best person to ask that question as i have always had progressive based plasmas not alis units
     
  5. stanleyntl

    stanleyntl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Worthing, Sussex
    Ratings:
    +44
    Cheers. :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...