Panny PWD8 - More newbie help needed

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by neilhump3, Oct 20, 2005.

  1. neilhump3

    neilhump3
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks to all the great advice on this board, I have decided to go for the Panasonic 42-PWD8.
    I am looking for advice on what I will need to get my setup working.

    It comes with S-Vidoe + Composite boards and a wall mount.

    I will want to hook it up to my Sky+ and Sony DVD 5.1 surround system.

    What extra stuff will I need (additional terminal box(es), and cables) and what will work best with what? What do I plug in where?

    Can this be in *real* simpleton English as I have no idea what I am doing :rotfl:

    Thanks again :thumbsup:
     
  2. Parklife

    Parklife
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +33
    What outputs have you got on the Sony DVD? This will dictate what you require.
     
  3. UKseless1

    UKseless1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +36
    Hi Neil,

    Good choice mate.

    Some questions as there's a bunch of ways of connecting this screen up. Does you Sony 5.1 have component out?

    You could use this to connect to the VGA port on the screen. You could daisy chain Sky through the DVD i.e. Scart from Sky to the DVD Player (if it has a scart socket). Component to VGA cable from the DVD to the vga input in the screen. The screen comes with the VGA port so no need to purchase additional boards and only one cable to the screen.

    You'll get loads more help from the folks here if you are able to tell them what connectivity your current kit has. Other option is if you are going to buy from AV-Sales is to tell them exactly what you have and they will advise best way to connect. If you are uncertain you can post back and see what folks here think. Av-Sales are usually very very helpful and give good advice.
     
  4. neilhump3

    neilhump3
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks again for the replies... more real newbie questions coming up.
    My Sony DVD player is quite old (3-4 years) and only seems to have 2 x Yellow, Red, White video outputs.

    What should I do? Do I need to buy additional equipment?
     
  5. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,712
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +484
    not even a scart?....sounds like you need a new dvd
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,344
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    and to read the Plasma FAQ although a bit out of date it has all the info you need!
     
  7. neilhump3

    neilhump3
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did some more research and have found a cheapo (really struggling for budget now) 5.1 DVD player that has a YUV output and scart.

    Will I be able to daisy chain the Sky+ to the DVD via scart, then the DVD to the Plasma via YUV to VGA? Without buying anymore terminal boards?

    I had no idea this was all going to be so difficult!
     
  8. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,712
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +484
    no i think you can only do that with a dvd recorder as the scart on normal dvd players is an output not an input, but you could go dvd to sky via scart sky to screen via s-video
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,344
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    dont daisy chain use component for DVD (forget cheapo all in ones........) and use scart for sky i havent seen the new scart board in action but you may wish to consider a converter unit
     
  10. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,712
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +484
    def the way to go if the OP doesn't mind spending more dosh....the new scart is bloody marvellous by the way Horny mate
     
  11. neilhump3

    neilhump3
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does that mean the YUV on the DVD I am thinking of getting will plug into the VGA on the Plasma (will I need an extra board for that, and what cable will I need?), and I will need to buy a seperate Scart board to plug my Sky+ via Scart to Scart (normal Scart cable)?

    I really need all this advice in simple *idiot* English :suicide:

    My total budget really cant go above £1500, and I dont have a DVD player with Component Out :(
    I also need to Wall Mount and dont have any cables - think I am gonna struggle for that budget - Bl**dy Women :thumbsdow:
     
  12. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,712
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +484
    if you buy the screen from av sales they should do you a scart board for £96 as opposed to the normal £126. I'm sure you already have a scart cable. SO then it's the dvd which as Horny says is best connected via component but you can do that using a component(3 rca) cable to vga (http://www.lektropacks.com/view_item.php?product=271&&category=39) and use the existing vga port on your panel. Cable will cost £26 from lektropacks. So how much does that leave you for a dvd player?
     
  13. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,712
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +484

Share This Page

Loading...