1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panny PW7 Problems could be me any Help greatly appreciated

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Dicky pw7, Mar 10, 2005.

  1. Dicky pw7

    Dicky pw7
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Recently bought PW7 with scart board. Have connected video, xbox, ps2, and phillips freeveiw box through "all for one" scart box (not cheapest worked well with TV.
    Everything is fine apart from the freeview which is unacceptably bright, skin textures are as though on maximum contrast and I can't seem to fix it, (tint option on menu won't work on freeview picture either).
    Normaly I'm not bad with this sort of thing so I must be missing something
    Any siggestions??? :lease:

    Thanks

    Dicky
     
  2. phillfyspoon

    phillfyspoon
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +76
    Is it the same with a direct connection to the plasma?
     
  3. tamthetim

    tamthetim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    478
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Perth
    Ratings:
    +6

    do you mean the PW7 menu or the freeview menu?

    cheers,tam
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    is freeveiw outputting RGB or composite???
     
  5. Dicky pw7

    Dicky pw7
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The PW7 menu
     
  6. Dicky pw7

    Dicky pw7
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    RGB
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    some STB's (never used philips) have an internal brightnes/contrast control check for one of those........ and what is your reception like good and strong or does it go blocky and break up often?
     
  8. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    Dicky,

    You've bought a good plasma panel and the Freeview picture should be good. The scart board wouldn't have been my choice but it isn't that bad - I am suspicious of your "all for one", I suspect that is where the problem lies.
     
  9. Dicky pw7

    Dicky pw7
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Deep Joy :clap:

    That's done it, picture seems to be perfect, obviously I need to play about / get a different scart splitter. It seemed to be a good one :oops:

    Can anyone recommend a "splitter" or media box? :confused:
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    QUINTRO £70ish or perhaps the Joytech one from play £40ish or £60 for the new one
     
  11. Dicky pw7

    Dicky pw7
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks
    I'm busy making adjustments and reading the instructions again.....
    ....and again :suicide:
     
  12. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    Dicky,

    Good to hear that things are improved. Quintro may not be necessary, a J S Tech Master Scart Controller may do the trick, though it all depends on your games consoles and the type of output that they are configured for. More info needed to give more help - PS2 outputting?, X box outputting?
     
  13. Dicky pw7

    Dicky pw7
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    Thanks

    PS2 is on scart (nothing special shop bought with plug for gun and separate audio cables, but I use optical to DVD/surround which is superb) must admit only tried Battlefront and was a little disappointed with picture, wanted to play about with settings , but time is against me, only seem to get a couple of hours to myself before bed.
    X box is on the RGB cables connected to the scart it all came with, seems to be better than ps2 but again need time to play.

    Thanks again for help, any suggestions for better connectors appreciated, there seems to be so much stuff, not all of which "does what is says on the box". :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...