1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panny PW6 & PS2

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by GreenBhoy, Jul 28, 2004.

1. GreenBhoy

GreenBhoy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +10
    Dear All,

I have had my Panny PW6 for almost a year now, but being a farly late developer I have just bought a PS2 (with a gold RGB scart lead). I have also recently added Sky+.....

Observation:
    PS2 looks the nuts when plugged into a STD 21" Sony CRT, but looks totally pants when plugged into the 2nd Scart on the Sky+ which is connected to my plasma.

Problem:
    Why is my PS2 plasma picture so bad? :confused: It looks as if I am not getting RGB - composite only possibly? Can I tell if I am getting RGB on the Panny?

Thoughts:
    I have a scart board & component board in my Panny.
    Can I improve the PS2 scart picture just by cabling/tweaks?
    Do I need to upgrade to a component lead for the PS2? My Amp can component switch 2 devices (which leaves me stuffed for JS RGB to Component converter in future - DVD is pogressive/Component already).

Any thoughts/observations are truly welcome.....

Regards Greenbhoy

2. hornydragon

hornydragon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    PS2 component lead much better!
    JS RGB> VGA for future gizmos, can use Sky+ on S-video (i tend to) cheaper and easier and leaves AV 1 free for DVD-R unit or as you have scart board use that.

3. GreenBhoy

GreenBhoy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +10
    HornyDragon - Thanks for the reply
    S-vid - how does that get into my plasma for Sky+? Will I need to buy a new board or simply get an S-vid - scart type thingy?

Also my amp does s-vid switching too - any mileage in doing the whole lot via S-vid?

Regards GreenBhoy

4. SilverPenguin7

SilverPenguin7

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: