Panny PW6 HD Compatible?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by nickquest, Oct 19, 2005.

  1. nickquest

    nickquest
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I Have a trusty panasonic PW6. To cut to the chase, is it compatible with a suitable HDMI input board?
     
  2. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +230
    Even if you put an HDMI board into the PW6 it won't do either 720p @ 50 Hz or 1080i @ 50 Hz, so the Sky HD digital outputs won't work. The component board in a PW6 will accept HD. The 1st gen Sky HD receivers will output HD over component. Shortish term you are OK.
     
  3. ukdan

    ukdan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    swindon
    Ratings:
    +85
    edit: too slow piers got there first
     
  4. dando

    dando
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same question different Plasma. Is PWD8 HD compatible?
     
  5. LFCRules

    LFCRules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,682
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +188
  6. nickquest

    nickquest
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Piers. I can see me moving over to a Panny 500 anyway me thinks when the prices drop a bit. Nowt wrong with the PW6 but HD is gonna be ace!
     
  7. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +230
    Wish I could persuade you to forget the PV500 - see the PHD8 and you will see why.
     
  8. nickquest

    nickquest
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The PHD8 is a possibility for sure. My PW6 is fab and i bet the 8 is mindblowing.
     
  9. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +230
    Best plasma that I have yet seen - only one that is in the same league is the Fuji 50 - and there are some issues there not present on the Panny - equally one issue with the Panny (see another thread tonight!) - no prob in my view.
     
  10. quattro

    quattro
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stafford
    Ratings:
    +16
    I have the PW6 also, will the benifits be worth it for Sky HD on this screen ?
     
  11. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +230
    Until the Sky HD box actually hits the streets everyone is guessing. I have tried high def material from Euro 1080 into standard def 7 and 8 series Panasonics and it looks good, noticeably better than standard def material, but it won't be up to full high def potential on a standard def screen.
     
  12. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    At the moment, the best HD source is the XBox 360. Use one with my screen, and yes it does make a difference. You can see the difference between low resolution 1080i and the higher resolution 720p.

    I think you should also consider that the standard plasma screen does a progressive scanning process to get 570i to fit to 480p. This sounds like a lower resultion, but you've got to remember the "i" meands you divide by two, it's more like 285p! The "p" is all important. So a standard plasma screen is actually higher resolution than "SD" material, closer to HD.

    PWx screens will be compatible with HD material. You will get an improvement, and component video is fine. But, I've seen some other manufacturers HD screens which have so much noise on the screen, they look a lot worse than a good intermediate screen. So, be careful with any choise.

    All the best,

    Dr John Sim.
     
  13. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +230
     
  14. thedude

    thedude
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +2,072
    1080i isnt a lower res than 720!

    and no panasonic can handle the 1080i so thats why there is no difference
     
  15. gstadt

    gstadt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    292
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +25
    I think the good doctor means that with interlaced video only half of the pixels are on the screen at any one time but with progressive you get all pixels, ergo, the effective resolution is higher with 720p than 1080i.
     
  16. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,344
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    What do you mean handle? it will downscale but thats not to say its not comaptible (there are very very few 1080 native WS displays and when 1080i is downscaled depending oin the chipset used it can look very good
     
  17. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    Yes, that's it exactly. We use interlaced because we don't need as much bandwidth for it. Less bandwidth, less information. Because it's updated just as often (although with less lines) as 720p, you brain is tricked in to thinking it's viewing a full screen, almost. In one journal (IEE publication) this was quoted at 80%, although in my experience 720p is the better picture and you can see the difference clearly.

    I also recently did a test on a couple of people to see what they thought. Tried 1080i and 720p, without them really knowing that the difference would be. Both prefer 720p because you've got much more detail and stated the 1080i picture was soft.

    Therefore, I stand by my earlier post.

    All the best,

    Dr John Sim.
     
  18. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,344
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    not trying to be a pain doc but did you use a 1080 native display or a 720 native display (or one in between?) doesnt 720p have 33% more info than 1080i (roughly speaking)
     
  19. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    It's been done on a couple of different screens. But, whatever the resolution of the screen the fact that people have picked out 720p being better is my point. This supports what I believe from a technical point of view.

    All the best,

    Dr John Sim.
     
  20. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,344
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    even on 1080 natives like the LC45GD1E? i havent done a side by side of 720p and 1080i on 2 indentical 1080 native displays which is the only way to tell really otherwise its too dependant on the processing which is generally better on 720p feeds but is this purely down 72op being better or the chips being better at scaling it??? and how about the comparison of identical diplays (type size make) with 720 native and 1080 native fedd 1080i and 720p? is 720p superior in all respects and situations?
     
  21. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    The difference was clear, we didn't need two displays. Also tried different sources too. There will always be exceptions to every rule, but this is what we observed. I always say to people to try different set up and see what works best for them. If you have a display that works better in 1080i than 720p, fine use that. From a technical point of view, as quoted in the IEE article, 720p has more information but 1080i has a lower bandwidth. For those broadcasting, lower bandwidth is desirable.

    All the best,

    Dr John Sim.
     
  22. LCDRulz

    LCDRulz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I read that the new gen sky hd boxes would output hd on both component and hdmi, can someone confirm this?

    Roy
     
  23. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,344
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    Until Sky release the box nothing is gaurenteed but we understand the first generation of HD boxes will have HDMI and Component (however the use of component output will be limited to none HDCP material so when HDCP kicks in the component output may be turned off leaving you with a blank screen.....)
     
  24. SillySausage

    SillySausage
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +32
    Thread dig up time ;)

    Will my PHD6 42" be ok accepting the new HD signals? I assume it will be.

    Appologies for the sideways move, but if I wanted to watch HD films and samples downloaded on the PC, do I simply connect the PC to the VGA port and watch away, or does the screen have to be 'programmed' to play HD.

    Cheers,
    Adam.
     
  25. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,344
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    Until HDCP is implemented YES (via component and VGA) then you will need a "work around" as we call them in my line of work
    HD @ 60Hz is no issue but at 50Hz over DVi or HDMI it is
     
  26. Shimmyhill

    Shimmyhill
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    673
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +25
    I have a PHD6 and im fully aware of the workarounds ;) My question is - is there much difference between a PHD6 + 8 (taking out the no 720p/1080i 50hz) Im not going to change to an 8 just interested.
     
  27. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,344
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    I dont think so, i do know of some people who have replaced 7 series with 8 series and have noticed it not being quite as good in some respects (better in others tho)
     
  28. Hammond93

    Hammond93
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

    I currently have a 42PWD4, does anyone know if this is compatible with 1080i ?
    I'm also thinking about getting the new PX60, but would a PHD8 be a better option?

    Cheers,

    Marcus
     
  29. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,344
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    PWD4 will work with 1080i and 720p on analoge and a PHD8 is a better bet than the PX60 (panels have always been better than the TV version) not seen a PX60 yet to do a direct comparison tho
     
  30. mickyiz29

    mickyiz29
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What component board do you need for the PWD6 to get hi-def ? also is there a component or hdmi to vga cable that would work ? Or Even a HDMI to DVI to VGA ??

    i only have a VGA board at the moment on my pwd6 but have a telewest TVDRIVE with hi-def content available . :(

    Thanks in advance .
     

Share This Page

Loading...