1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panny PW5 & Pioneer 868- Digital Video?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by gmt steve, Apr 7, 2004.

  1. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    Does anyone know whether or not I could get the DVI board for a Panny PW5 and use it with the HDMI output on a Pioneer 868?
    I don't know if the PW5 DVI board is HDCP compliant, nor whether it would work for PAL and NTSC.
    I know there is a problem with Panny DVI and iScan Ultra when passing PAL, but I think that is the Ultra's fault due to it's non-standard PAL DVI output.
    Anyone?
     
  2. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    Steve,

    Hi - hope you are well :)

    I think the DVI board is the same for the 4 and 5 series - part number TY-42TM4DB (http://www.av4business.co.uk/panasonic/pdf/2002EU PDP SYSTEM.pdf). IIRC they cost about £150-£200 from the US.

    I am pretty sure you would be able to use this input with a DVI=>HDMI cable from the 868 from a connectivity point of view.

    Pretty sure the TM4D isn't HDCP compliant as this was only added on the TM6Y (6 series DVI). The card only supports 60Hz (NTSC) so PAL is a no go :( unless you get a scaler which can ouput 50Hz as 60Hz (like the HD???)

    Yeah this is a bug in the Ultra as it outputs PAL as 572 and not 576 over the DVI port. This is fixed on the iScan HD.

    At the end of the day Steve I think that a good component or VGA link is very near to DVI, especially as there are quite a few issues with DVI on the Panny (and when combined with the Ultra). I am toying with having a look at the DVI input on my PWD6 with the iScan HD to see how much difference there really is...I am reasonably confident however, that my VGA connection from the HD into the TM6Y (BNC component board) will be pretty close to what you could get with DVI. As you know, digital doesn't always mean better ;)

    The following thread might help:

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=115280&highlight=panasonic+dvi
     
  3. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    :confused:
    I don't understand Jason, are you saying that I should save my money and stick with what I've got?
    Have you had some sort of psychotic episode? Or eaten too many easter eggs:zonked:
     
  4. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    I think he means to say it wouldnt work with the pioneer on the basis of non HDCP compliance on the panny when the pioneer is.

    ad
     
  5. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    It was sort of a private joke buns, you see Jason keeps trying to get me to upgrade stuff so that I end up in trouble with the wife. It's something of a suprise that he's advocating sticking with what I've got.
     
  6. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    lol sorry! I'll shut up now! :D

    ad
     
  7. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    Thought you would be surprised ;) - Just telling it how it is...

    Just because you dont plan to use DVI doesn't mean you shouldn't upgrade to the HD :devil: :D

    ...or upgrade to a PWD6 either :D

    JJ
     
  8. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    Christ! You'll be suggesting I get a boob job next.:D
    And the answer is NO :eek:
     
  9. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    Go on!!!!!

    [​IMG]

    :D
     
  10. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    :eek:

    :censored:

    :offtopic:
     

Share This Page

Loading...