Panny ES30 (RAM to another format?)

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by dvdope, Mar 14, 2006.

  1. dvdope

    dvdope
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Finally bought a dvd recorder and plumped for the Panny ES30 (I know :eek: ). My only reason for purchasing this is because I’ve read that it can improve on the quality of the original vhs tape when transferring to dvd. (including older tapes with noise and jitter). I have literally hundreds of the buggers to transfer and hope it can do the job as well as the reviews state it can. Assuming the tapes get transferred successfully and I start using the panny for dubbing from tv, if I dub to RAM, can I then edit stuff I want to keep and then dub to another format i.e. –R; -RW; +R so it can be played in other dvd players ? Thanks for any help
     
  2. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,754
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,568
    I don't think you will be able to do that as it does not have a HDD.
    You can only record to DVD-RAM, DVD-R, DVD-RW...not DVD+R/RW
     
  3. zebs

    zebs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    256
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    lowestoft
    Ratings:
    +42

    http://www.btinternet.com/~james_lancaster/ramtor.HTML :thumbsup:
     
  4. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,754
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,568
  5. dvdope

    dvdope
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the replies. The answer, looking at the link, would seem it is possible – providing I have a RAM compatible drive in my comp. At this time, I don’t but it’s an option for future consideration. Better get transferring those tapes:boring:
     
  6. zebs

    zebs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    256
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    lowestoft
    Ratings:
    +42
    As he had posted on here, naturally I assume he has a PC, therefore it is an option to be considered

    :)
     
  7. Searcher2

    Searcher2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Blackburn
    Ratings:
    +92
    I have seen the guide - and not yet bought a DVD-RAM drive. The guide deals with editing menus etc. on the PC using authoring software.

    The advantage of DVD-RAM is that you can edit and add thumbnails using the recorder. I was hoping that I could just do a straight DVD Copy using Nero on my PC from DVD-RAM to DVD-R if I ever wanted a copy to play in another machine. Is this not possible? I don't fancy messing about with authoring.
     

Share This Page

Loading...