Panny e75 sound but no picture?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by tallpaul13, Jan 6, 2005.

1. tallpaul13

tallpaul13

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Newbie here....

I have a Panny E75 DVD recorder/video combi hooked up to a Viere 37" plasma via a component cable for picture and scart for sound. If I watch a DVD (AV4C on the plasma I get a cracking picture and sound - no problems. However, if I want to record sky (conected via scart) on the DVD on AV2 which is the "input" all I get is sound and a black screen. I am (pretty) sure I have set the menu up correct ie AV2 input and AV1 output.

In order to record a picture I have to set the "video" section to AV2 and the "DVD" section to TP (which is ment to record from tape to DVD). This results in a poorer quality picture.

Any ideas?.

2. denis1501

denis1501

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8
    Ensure the digibox is outputting RGB, Services, system set-up, Picture Settings.
    Ensure the Panny EXT 2 is set up to input RGB
    Check that your scarts are secure.
    regards
    D.

3. tallpaul13

tallpaul13

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi D,

thanks for the reply. I have checked all cabling. The DVD playback via component is brilliant. Sky via AV1 on plasma is OK.

No picture when trying to watch sky thru DVD recorder - only sound?.

All settings are OK on Sky and like I mention component must be OK as playback is OK.

If I change one of the DVD recorder settings (AV2 input) to vide - lowest quility I get a terrible picture thru?.

4. jem

jem

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7
    Sound and no picture means AV2 is not getting an RGB input. Make sure you are using the TV out scart from Sky into the E75 AV2 and not the VCR out. The VCR out from Sky only gives a composite picture. RGB is only output through the TV scart.

5. tallpaul13

tallpaul13

Products Owned: