1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

panny dmr85 will not play copied dvd

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by beerglass007, Sep 27, 2004.

  1. beerglass007

    beerglass007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Copied a DVD or 2 and they pkay fine on my PC or standard DVD player.
    But when playing on the panny dmr85 it doesnt support it.

    There DVD-R discs and played fine on another load of DVD players
    its just the DMR85.

    Anyone know why?
     
  2. Jules

    Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    5,052
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +721
    Its most likely the brand of blank disc you're using.
    Some cheaper brands don't work on all machines... or rather some machines don't like certain cheap brands of DVD-R's.

    Outside of Panasonic, TDK, Sony, Pioneer discs etc, and a couple of other brands (which are all more expensive) you should probably expect a couple of compatibility issues.

    It could also be the drive used to burn the discs.
    Some drives don't make a good burn with certain discs and the resultant copy can be troublesome.
    I've borrowed discs burned by a friend (the same brand of discs that I normally have no problems with) but they cause problems because his burner struggles with them.

    Finding the right brand of disc for your equipment can be a pain (and it a shouldn't be!) but most people find discs with RITEK dye a safe bet without costing a fortune.
    However, whilst my Panasonic E50 will read a RITEK disc, it won't burn one. :suicide:
     
  3. beerglass007

    beerglass007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply but it isnt the discs

    I have used many different types of DVDs and different burners

    The same disc will work in the DMR85 so it cant be the disc
     
  4. dude1971

    dude1971
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't you have to encode it in VR mode to play on the e85?

    Regards

    Dude
     
  5. beerglass007

    beerglass007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    encode the dvd ?

    If you look at the dvd from windows explorer theres directory called VIDEO_TS.
    Within there is all the VOB files.

    Some discs work and anothers dont, all using the same media.

    When the discs that dont work are placed into another standard DVD player they fire up and work. So it cant be a duff copy and cant be the media because I have proved it work in the DMR85.
     
  6. dude1971

    dude1971
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have backed up some DVDs onto Ram and they play fine on my player but not my recorder. I was told that you had to change them into VR mode.

    Regards

    Dude
     
  7. beerglass007

    beerglass007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok thanks for that

    How did you manage that?>
     
  8. RBJTech

    RBJTech
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Kent, England
    Ratings:
    +101
    If it's not the media then it must be a corrput or badly formed IFO file. As said earlier in the post, what are you using to copy the DVD's ? Branded players are a lot more fussy when it comes to reading a properly constructed IFO file (navigation file etc). I've used DVDShrink on Ritek disks that play fine in an E85 - I've also used tools like IFOEdit to recreate the IFO from scratch (movie only) and these play fine too. Infact so far my E85 plays everything (including crap Princo media) so I agree that it's probably not media ...
     
  9. RBJTech

    RBJTech
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Kent, England
    Ratings:
    +101
    DVD-R has nothing to do with VR mode - I believe this is for DVD-RAM only ...
     
  10. beerglass007

    beerglass007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    nice one Teeerex you sound like your on the ball.

    It isnt the media .

    I used Nero 6 to burn the dvd.
    How easy is it to recreate the .ifo file.

    I just tested a DVD on my xbox and it wouldnt play and that plays everything
    . So I point the xbox at the single .vob files and they play so seems like its the .ifo file.

    Think iam getting there, just seems like the DMR85 fuzzy
     
  11. RBJTech

    RBJTech
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Kent, England
    Ratings:
    +101
    OK - when you said you use Nero - do you mean Nero Re-Code ? (ie transcoder) or do you mean you used another compression program (such as DVDShrink, CCE or another Authoring program etc) and then the result from this program you dragged into Nero (incl all VOB's, IFO's etc) as a standard DVD-Video burn option from within nero ?

    Nero will not let you do a straight 1:1 DVD Copy (assuming encrypted disk here) so you must have used somthing to 'rip' it ...

    On the IFOEdit option (again talking Film only here) just download IFOEdit (ddom9.org), use the 'recreate IFO option', give it the main VOB's and it will recreate the Ifo and navigation for you.

    Let me know on the above ....
     
  12. RBJTech

    RBJTech
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Kent, England
    Ratings:
    +101
    sorry - that should have said 'www.doom9.org'.... :blush:
     
  13. beerglass007

    beerglass007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok i have ifoedit and fired it up

    The vob files are all now in d:\video_ts on my HD

    WHen i click on CREATIFOs tab what do i need to select?


    I have selected VIDEO_TS.VOB or VTS_01_0.VOB ?
     
  14. RBJTech

    RBJTech
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Kent, England
    Ratings:
    +101
    The VTS_01_1.VOB is the one you need.

    Once you have all the files (including the newly created IFO), play it in PowerDVD or whatever to make sure it all works - then burn the entire directory with the DVD-Video option in Nero and your E85 should have no trouble reading the DVD.

    I hope this cures the problem...
     
  15. beerglass007

    beerglass007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks mate

    I am gonna burn it tonight after work and will give your the thumbs up or down.
    But the ifo was created last night, didnt have time to try it out

    Thanks for all your help so far
    :laugh:
     

Share This Page

Loading...