1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panny and PS2

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by toonarmy, Jun 21, 2003.

  1. toonarmy

    toonarmy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    226
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Ratings:
    +6
    I am in the process of buying a Playstation 2 for my son this is to be connected to the Scart on his portable TV.

    On occasion I may be tempted to hook it up to my Panasonic Plasma (TH 42PWD4BX).

    I am already using the VGA input for Sky and the component for DVD, leaving me S Video and composite.

    What cables will I need to hook it up to the Portable and the Plasma to give me the best results.

    Thanks

    Toonarmy
     
  2. Kazuya Mishima

    Kazuya Mishima
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Ratings:
    +65
    Why don't you 'cascade' or 'daisy-chain' the PS2 through the Sky box to the VGA converter.....I do this with my PS2, through the Pace Telewest box.

    I used a Blaze RGB Scart cable for PS2, the picture is STUNNING I tell you!
     
  3. jont

    jont
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,944
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    near Aylesbury
    Ratings:
    +420
    I used to have my ps2 through my didgibox in rgb and worked well ...

    I f you use ps2>svideo would be better than composite ...

    but on series 4 panny you can't use svideo and composite at the same time ...

    in case you were wanting to hook up a vcr or digicam as well ...

    rgds

    Jon
     
  4. toonarmy

    toonarmy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    226
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks for the info.

    Can anyone recommend any good sites for PS2 cables etc

    Toonarmy
     
  5. jont

    jont
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,944
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    near Aylesbury
    Ratings:
    +420
    got my old cables from www.lik-sang.com in hong kong ...

    dirt cheap, low p&p and good delivery times ;-)

    Jon
     
  6. Nick Laslett

    Nick Laslett
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
  7. grobschnitt

    grobschnitt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Lincs
    Ratings:
    +0
    Geting a PS2 this Christmas - I have the Panny TH42PWD4 and sky box is connected via JSTech VGA, DVD direct as is video. I have a Yam E800 and try to connect my sons PS1 via the AV amp and plugging a S-video from this to the Plasma. This didnt seem to work. Direct route to s-vid input does but you loose the video to the s-vid default.

    Interested in the sky box connection suggested. ? how do you do this there doesnt seem to be any conections available and how do you swittch from tv to PS? Anyone with the Yam AV sorted this out?(sound and vision)



    :confused:
     
  8. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    Does PS-1 support Svideo? not sure.

    Best way might be to use the component port on the panny for PS-2. Get the coponent cable from the playstation uk shop website.
     

Share This Page

Loading...