Panny ae100 or ???

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by JSW, Apr 23, 2002.

  1. JSW

    JSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,284
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +333
    I've been mulling over this pj for nearly 2 weeks now and almost pressing submit order on a couple of occassions.

    But I want to connect me Tosh SD900E via component and looking around here its not the pj for that.

    What else should I be looking at?

    I will also have a HCPC connected too.

    Many thanks
    Bry
     
  2. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you already have a hcpc, why bother with the tosh?
    Just use VGA from the htpc to the panny.
     
  3. Bonesy

    Bonesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    also, do we all really think the component in is that bad? I will be using component, and appreciate that the VGA is best (fair point floyd), but don't think it goes as far as AE100 is not worth buying because of poor component.

    Jsw, think of AE100 with component as best around (sub £2000), and great HCPC performance as a bonus. or do I have rose-tinted specs on?
     
  4. JSW

    JSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,284
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +333
    Thanks Bonesy that was the sort or reply I was looking for :)

    Floyd:
    I Have the Tosh and very happy I am with it :)
    I have put my main pc from uptstairs down in the living room just to get a feel for girder etc im trying out with the pronto while I wait for my Dign case to arrive.

    Once the Dign arrives I will then build my HCPC as just that.
     
  5. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,225
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +310
    JSW

    I see you have a kp-41ds1, I also have this tv, the AE100 blows it away, the kp smears has poor geometry and has bad refection problems.
    I am that pleased with the AE100, I have let my Son have the KP-41 in his bedroom, he thinks its awsome playing his PS2 on it.
    I am using a Toshiba Sd-510 for R1 progressive playback, it looks very good, not as good as wide720 which I have tried, but its still very good.
    Sony KP-41ds1 = the worse purchase I ever made IMHO.
     
  6. JSW

    JSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,284
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +333
    Hi Timh,

    I dont have any issues with geometry, colour or sharpness on my KP :) maybe this is due to a Sony engineer coming out and upgrading a couple of chips on a couple of boards in the tv so the cam from itv digital would work.

    Using the THX setup from Phantom menace the geometry is absoloutly spot on just like a sheet of graph paper :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice