1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

panny 700

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by stu mcc, Dec 21, 2004.

  1. stu mcc

    stu mcc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23
    has anybody seen the review of the panny 700 in the current WHF?
    they specifically mention lack of detail???? and movement problems but otherwise it's a not bad review. does anyone care to comment on these issues or is it just a case of DLP propoganda.
    when it comes down to it i think i'd prefer the hs50 but lens throw may be an issue in my room - i'd be looking at about 5 metres.
    any thoughts or opinions would be most appreciated

    cheers stu

    season's greetings to all
     
  2. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    There is definitely no lack of detail in the picture, they may mean that it is slightly blurred due to the smoothscreen technology used, however I think this works very well (as an owner). From a distance it looks great and up close you cant really see the pixels.

    Dont know what you mean by movement problems so cant comment there.

    The issues I have/have heard of are:
    VB - some people have it some people dont
    A little noisy
    Feeble lens shift

    The Z3/AE700/HS50 are 'fairly' similar, with each having their own merits and price tag. Try and demo and go with what you liked the most! Otherwise the general concensus is, if you can afford it, go with the HS50! :p
     
  3. chop

    chop
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is this point in smoothscreen technology? I dont see how blurring the picture can be beneficial? I compared an H56A side by side with the AE700 and the 56A is MUCH clearer. How does this smoothscreen tech aid anything?
     
  4. Ciaran500

    Ciaran500
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Smoothscreen tech is used to stop the "chicken wire" effect on LCD panels.
     
  5. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    it is supposed to blur the edges of the pixels so the image looks more complete. It does make the image less sharp, but, all the detail is still there and I like the effect as do quite a few others.
     
  6. Sigismund

    Sigismund
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,376
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +102
    I don't believe Smoothscreen = slightly blurred image... on any Panny! I've owned an AE300 and the image I was getting on that wasn't in the slightest blurry ;)

    Also, lack of detail doesn't necessarily mean "not sharp" either. You can have a detailed but soft image, or a sharp image that lacks detail.
     
  7. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    That came out wrong then i guess; i meant that the smoothscreen blurred the pixels together so that even though all the detail is there, the edges of the pixels are less defined so it is less sharp. The picture as a whole is not blurred at all.

    Better Mark? :p :p
     
  8. Sigismund

    Sigismund
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,376
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +102
    :D Actually, now I've read my previous post again I think I come across as a right... something :rolleyes: I've even pretty much repeated what you said, and then made it sound like you'd said something completely different!!

    Anyway, I'm now officially a member of the Panny AE700 club, so if you can forgive my pinickityness and you have any setup advice for me, I would be most appreciative ;)

    Cheers,

    Mark
     
  9. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    hehe congrats m8! :)

    Doesnt need much setup advice really, its nice straight from the box in my opinion. Normally at the start of a film i scroll through the various picture settings (video/cinema1,2,3/normal/dynamic....) to find what I think looks best for the film. I also have a set of my own settings which Im not sure if I like, but the DVE disk was used to get them. Ill post them next time im downstairs and have the projector on, prob not too long ;)
     
  10. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    19,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +5,255
    explicitlyrics,
    would be very intrested in what seting you are using.

    Sigismund,
    well done and what a bargain you got. :smashin:
     
  11. Lil in Spain

    Lil in Spain
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    hunts1uk I see you are using a pioneer 575 and sky+ to your 700. Have you got your 575 set to progressive, and is your sky+ connected via S-vid ?
    If so how happy are you with both feeds? Its just that this is the set up I'll be using when the bloody thing arrives.

    Sorry to be :offtopic: guys !!

    Thanks
     
  12. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    19,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +5,255
    I have my sky+ set up using scart at the moment and 575 using beldon component cable PS on.Very happy with both but am going to change the sky to s-video and use my new Yam 750 amp with component out to PJ for both. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...