1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panny 6 Series - VGA Question

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by woody123, Nov 19, 2003.

  1. woody123

    woody123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Chelmsford
    Ratings:
    +1
    Can any one confirm please that the 6 serise does take component input via the VGA connector on the Plasma?

    Also, if it does please let me know where can I find a diagram of the pin-outs? Pannys site is less then helpful.

    Thank you.

    James
     
  2. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    It takes component video by the usual R, G & B pins (pins 1, 2 & 3 with ground on 6, 7 & 8)
     
  3. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,149
    i think he's asking if he can get YUV component into the vga port.
     
  4. Tee Tee

    Tee Tee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yep, this definitely works as this is how I've got mine set up. Made the cable myself using shielded CAT5 cable.
     
  5. woody123

    woody123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Chelmsford
    Ratings:
    +1
    I mean Component in the form it comes out of a Denon 3803.

    Does this make any difference?
     
  6. deman77

    deman77
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    260
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    only RGB not YUV
     
  7. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    It takes component video via the 15 pin d-sub socket. It uses the same pin configuration as RGB would i.e. the pins I laid out above. You will need a 3 RCA to 15 pin d-sub cable to do it (we stock these).
     
  8. woody123

    woody123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Chelmsford
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks Liam and all for the help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...