1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

panny 6 SCART to RGB Connection

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by claudio1953, Oct 29, 2003.

  1. claudio1953

    claudio1953
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there
    I am from Italy and I'm a potential buyer for plasma display TH-42PW6 here in my country, Italy, but I have the urgency to contact a "really qualified" Panasonic service personnel or experienced owners of this display!

    Unluckily I have a "basic" question for this item that cannot be answered properly by Panasonic assistance here in my country.
    I would like to connect DIRECTLY my DVD player (an RA-71 model) via SCART to the RGB input of the dual slot Panasonic TY-42TM6Y board provided with the display.
    The technical support here keeps on saying that this is possible by providing a proper cable (a SCART plug on one side and 4 BNC connectors on the other) following this scheme


    SCART TY-42TM6Y
    ___________________________________
    R Signal R Signal
    G Signal G Signal
    B Signal B Signal

    CVBS Signal CVBS IN
    ___________________________________


    Consequently on the menu setting I have to select RGB and CS as signal sync (page 32 of the manual).
    On the other hand my "qualified reseller" has checked with this connection and settings several times and with different sources and he "ABSOLUTELY says that this does NOT work at all.
    He also states that with some of his UK colleagues he exchanged experience and they have tested the configuration with the same UNSUCCESFUL result!

    Before buying the panel itself I would be very pleased if someone here could help me in understanding which kind of connection I have to use "FOR REAL" to connect the DVD player to the TH-42PWD6EX and I thought you my might have helped me.
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  3. claudio1953

    claudio1953
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    here in Italy Scart board is quite costly while the standard (component/RGB) board comes free. This board is anyway better than the scart one and for a lower cost I can get a much better performance via the JS RGB/VGA convertor.
    Anyway it is going to be used with a SAT receiver ... DVD is progressiva via VGA plug.
    It is anyway a technical specs (stated on the manual) that is not quite clear on the user manual
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    So are you sorted claudio1953 or still after some help?
     
  5. claudio1953

    claudio1953
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I really want to know!!!
    who is right? panasonic support or my reseller??
     
  6. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    Claudio - the 6th Gen dual slot board does NOT do the sync on composite trick that the 5th generation did. As the horny man himself said, Panasonic basically reckon you use the Scart board for RGBs and the dual slot board for RGBHV or RGsB.

    I think it also has something to do with the 3 slot architecture since the composite plug is on a different slot to the R, G & B plugs!

    What you need is either a JS Technology Plasma VGA box or a Syncblaster (to connect via straight VGA cable or via 5 BNCs in both cases) or an RGB to Component converter.
     
  7. claudio1953

    claudio1953
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How was practically quite sure about that and I also pointed out the difference (with series 5) to the technical support manager here in panasonic Italy Mr.Paolo Tanoni: I was almost treated as a bother (or a pin in the ass as your American cousins use to say) to the service personnel or a sturd-headed person. Really the "unqualified" personnel at Panasonic Italia should be "rewarded" for their professionality!!!
    Thanks again
    Claudio
    It's a real shame that such a good piece of equipment is so badly supported!!
    Attached you will find the email from technical support manger Mr Paolo Tanoni
     

    Attached Files:

  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    I'm sure you could buy a Scart board in UK or Germany and get it shipped (liam) or go straight for and RGB>VGA and use VGA for DVD and DSat
     
  9. claudio1953

    claudio1953
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The VGA input will be used by a progressive player (with vga out).
    The RGB is going to be used for SAT .. and so I will buy also the JS RGB>VGA conv. connected with a VGA/4BNC (RGB+cvbs) to the standard (2slot) input board...
    What is a real shame it's the "unqualified personnel here at pansonic Italy".
    See my previous post (with attachment)
    THNX anyway
     
  10. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    If you're going JS RGB > VGA then you need a VGA to 5 BNC to go on R G B H & V sockets. Or get another PC socket board keeping the dual slot board for component input, and SVHS/composite should you ever need it...
     
  11. claudio1953

    claudio1953
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for help liam
    if I go with JS it will be connected to the RGB comp via a vga/5BNC cable.
    As I am using RGBVH inputs, other input (Y/C-cvbs) should be available for another connection (a VCR for instance!) or am I wrong?
    Plasmapan (my italian reseller) says that JS gives better result compared to SCART board (even if I 'll lose format autoswitch).
    waht is your experience??
    Thanks again..
     
  12. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    JS does tend to give a better result than the scart board, you will then be left with s-video or composite video sockets free.
     
  13. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    claudio is JS gear availble from your reselller in italy?
     
  14. claudio1953

    claudio1953
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes it is via my reseller (a real qualified guy)
    plasmapan.net
    ;) :clap: :hiya:
     

Share This Page

Loading...