1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panny 6 configuration

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by DarT, Oct 26, 2003.

  1. DarT

    DarT
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am about to take the plunge into a new AV system.

    I have somewhat decided to buy a panny 6 plasma, but am unsure whether there is a need to have the 600 tuner as well, since the only advantage that I can see is that it will allow a single cable connection.

    My intention is to mount the panny on the wall above my fireplace, since I do not think there is a heat issue (thermometer checked), so having 1 single cable would be an distinct advantage.

    The panny will replace my current CRT TV, and also intend to get a DVD either recorder or player and new speakers, but the remaining equipment that I have I would like to keep and integrate into the new system.

    I have a Panasonic sky digibox, a Sony SLV-SF90 Video, and a Sony MHC-NX3AV hifi. I am a bit baffled by the use of amps and receivers, and integrating my existing equipment into the system.

    My existing hifi only has an output for the 5.1 speakers, and no output for connection to a separate amp. The hifi can accept inputs from DVD, and also TV tuner, which I think would allow me to connect these through my existing hifi. However, I do not want the home cinema experience to be reduced through using my existing hifi. Similarly, I do not want to have two sets of speaker (1 for home cinema and 1 for hifi).

    Anyone got any advice on how to integrate or whether I should ditch the existing hifi into another room and play the cd’s through a DVD ??
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    You need to talk through a few issues, far too much to post about. Where are you? have you a specialist dealer near you?
     
  3. DarT

    DarT
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am really looking for a broad overview prior to discussing in more detail with a dealer.

    In answer to you query I am based in Derbyshire.
     
  4. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    The trick might be to discuss with a dealer then bounce the view off the forum, check you're not being sold a pup.
    Main issues:-

    1. DVD players and HC amps are not very 'musical' unless you go quite high end. It's all about centre channel speech and big bangs.

    2. The VHS will look pretty horrid blown up to 42" You need to think again about recording.

    3. The TU600 tuner is a pain in the ****. Most folks here don't recommend them. I'm almost famous for it! In any case, you already have sky, and any recorder you get will have a tuner too, why buy another one?

    4. A single cable connection is easily possible without the tuner, that should preferably be component video.

    I'm a bit confused about the capabilities of your existing amp, but it's almost certainly possible to re-use your stereo speakers, if they're any good. The panny 6 is highly regarded, though some people are annoyed by it's flicker, so see it before you buy.

    This is not really covering all your issues, you need to speak to someone and thrash it out, then you'll be in a position to ask some pertinent, answerable questions.
     
  5. DarT

    DarT
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info, i take on board all your comments if i could clarify one final thing.

    You say that having one single cable is easily achieved without the tuner, can you advise of the best configuration to achieve this.
     
  6. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    AV amp with component video switching, and use devices with component output, or RGB which can be converted to component. The Denon 3803 amp upconverts video too, so s-video sources like s-vhs players can be sent as component.
     
  7. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +621
    MAW,

    Thanks for your insight. I too am looking to get a Panny P6, and have similar questions about the tuner.

    What I want to do is quite straightforward I think. I want to connect

    1. a Freeview box (don't need an analog tuner)
    2. My combined DVD/sound system (which supports component video out).
    3. An ordinary (non-S-video) VCR

    My current thought is to get the SCART and Component cards in the P6, and connect my freeview (+ vcr) into the Scart and my DVD into the component. In futute if I wanted to connect more things I could get a AV amp with compoennt switching (making the RGB scart redundant).

    I have talked to 3 different specialist retailers local to me (Bath):

    - Number 1 told me that with the P6 I needed the Panasonic tuner. When I asked if I could get the terminal boards and with a Freeview box avoid the tuner he admitted I could do that too.... I didn't feel I got any clear advice as to which was best.

    -Number 2 suggested to get a Freeview box and avoid the Panny tuner; configured as described above.

    - Number 3 was similar to number 1, told me to get the tuner, but then I suggested the option of direct connection, admitted that that probably would be better quality.

    I'm leaning towards the configuration without the Tuner. When you say the Panny tuner is a pain and not recomended, could you give more details why? As I'm getting conflicting information from the specialists I'm trying to gather as much information as I can.

    Mark
     
  8. Dalorp

    Dalorp
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I admit I'm a bit of a beginner to all this so others may contradict what I say.

    The way I see it is you need to decide how important having just one connection to your plasma is. If it is important then I suggest getting the tuner and you can plug everything straight into it. If its not then I believe you will get better results plugging straight into the display and buying the appropriate boards. You will be able to connect the DVD system with Component video and the others using Scart.

    I've just recieved my Panny 6 and connect DVD and SKy+ through an amp which is a bit different to your setup. It was important to me to to have just one connector to plasma but I found a way of doing it without a Tuner.
     
  9. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +621
    For me, having a single connection to the Plasma isn't important.
    I'm looking for a solution which:

    - is simple (requires the fewest amount of boxes)
    - provides best quality from what I've got today
    - cost is also a factor

    Mark
     
  10. whuuf

    whuuf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    you could go,

    dvd via component direct to plasma. (you would have to purchase a component board for this)

    vcr/dvd recorder and freeview into a scart switcher at £69.00 leaving 3 scart sockets free for ugradability.
    http://www.keene.co.uk/system/keene.htm.

    connect the scart switcher into a RGB to Plasma VGA convertor at £120.00
    http://www.rgbtosvideo.com/orderform.htm.
    which then goes into the onboard plasma vga slot.

    to save more money you could put the dvd into the scart switcher as well and then payout for the componet leads and board later.
     
  11. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +621
    Whuuf,

    Thanks, I think I see what you are saying.

    Right now I don't think I need the SCART switch box, as the freeview box has an extra SCART for my VCR. But if I need to connect more boxes in future I'll need this.

    I'd rather not use the VGA input for the RGB, as I'd also like to be able to connect a PC (something I forgot to mention).

    So, the current plan is:

    - DVD direct to component input (need board for this)
    - Freeview box (with VCR attached to it) into RGB scart board

    Future expansion could be via some sort of switcher, either on the RGB or component inputs.

    Does this make sense?

    Mark
     
  12. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Perfect sense, especially as you have 2 tuners already! The tuner has on board processing for poor quality signals. It'd probably improve your VCR picture, but not any of the better signals you have, and the way it switches between tv and AV inputs is so clunky the sight of them drives me nuts. (I work in custom install, and program universal remotes) We never specify them in installs, even if the customer begs. A freeview box is the way to go for tuning, one of those lovely pace or netgems for a preference. Netgem for AV amp switching, pace twin and ditch the VCR for the busy person with no VCR tapes he wants to keep...
     
  13. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +621
    Ok - I'm just about ready to pull the trigger on a Panasonic PW6 (42").

    I will go with the configuration I talked about earlier:

    - A component board for my DVD player
    - A RGB Start for the Freeview box.
    - VCR connected to the Freeview box.

    An alternative suggested was:

    "Have an RGB-Compnent converter from your freeview box and could then have all your equipment going through the component input, but this would require you to have some sort of switching
    device. Therefore the first method offers simplicity without compromising too much on quality."

    whuuf suggested:

    "vcr/dvd recorder and freeview into a scart switcher at £69.00 leaving 3 scart sockets free for ugradability. Connect the scart switcher into a RGB to Plasma VGA convertor which then goes into the onboard plasma vga slot"

    It seems to me that appart from possibly wasting money on a terminal board I may not need, both of these could still be options for me in future if I get more equipment, or are not happy with the quality. (Apart from I'm not sure if I want the VGA one, as I also will want to connect a PC from time to time there).
    If for example I later got a component switch of some sort, my RGB Scart would be redundant. But I'm getting the RGB SCART included in the price, so I'm not worried about this.

    Any final thoughts before I take the plunge? Thanks to everyone for their help.

    Mark
     
  14. whuuf

    whuuf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks like you have it all mapped out there then Mark, I'll probably be going for a pw6 as well with a very similar set up to yours.
    I have two options at the moment.

    1. swap the scart board for a component board included in the plasma price, and connect the dvd and sky + (via rgb to component converter) into the amp and run one component lead into the plasma.
    Will also put a scart cable in there unused incase I want to buy a scartboard and switcher in the future when I have a little more money.

    2. Same as you, sky+ to scart. Dvd to component.

    I'm also going to connect the pc to the plasma via vga lead.

    If I were you I would also add a dvi lead into the mix incase you want to connect your dvd player this way in the future as I am. (although this would also mean purchasing a dvi board as well.)

    Are you channelling all the cables into the walls?
     
  15. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +621
    I'm not channelling the cables; the plasma will be on a stand. Main reason for this is with our room layout, we want it at an angle. (I know we could get a stand you can pull out and angle, but to me unless you can have it flat on the wall I'd rather have it on a stand).

    I too am thinking DVI for future; but as I don't need this yet and access is not an issue I'll add that later.

    Thanks for your help and thoughts, and I wish you well with your purchase.

    Mark
     
  16. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Mark, whilst needs must, placing your screen in a corner/at an angle makes for problematic speaker placement. You usually end up with a poor front soundstage as the front surrounds are too close together. Rears are not such a problem. Think about where you are putting them carefully, and you need an amp that can adjust the delays on the speakers.
     
  17. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +621
    Yes, we have struggled with the speaker placement, but have managed a layout which is roughly rectangular. All the furniture is also at an angle. It isn't perfect, but it sounds fine to us.
    Mark
     
  18. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +621
    Oh, and I ordered the PW6 yesterday! Black, with RGB-SCART and component board.

    It will be installed on 13 Nov (I can't do it earlier than that because we are replacing the carpet, and want to wait until the new carpet is installed!).

    Mark
     
  19. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +621
    A minor panic, while I wait for my PW6 to come in...

    When figuring out the connectivity, I forgot about my camcorder (mini-DV). Now, with my current telly (old 21" CRT) I connect the camcorder via phono (composite) inputs to the VCR. I've been happy with this, as the TV doesn't handle anything except composite. (And until recently, I didn't understand anything about composite, S-Video, component, etc).

    Now with my new Plasma setup - what do I do when I want to watch the camcorder on the plasma? I can still connect it to the VCR composite, but will this look poor? The camcorder has an S-video output (which I've never used); but my setup doesn't have anyplace for an S-input. The SCART board on the plasma will handle S-video; do I need to get some box which I can input the freeview (RGB) and S-video camcorder into; both out to the plasma SCART?

    Mark
     
  20. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +621
    Replying to this to make this thread more current, as recent posting was asking a similar question.

    And I'm still interested if anyone has any advice regarding my camcorder and the Plasma screen - should I be looking at a way of getting S-video into the plasma, or will I be OK with composite (via my VCR)?

    Mark
     
  21. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    My opinion, if PQ is of value to you, get a AV board, you have a free slot? Use the s-video form the camcorder, it makes all the difference. S-Video is sort of sawn-off component, it's way better than composite, and not quite as good as component, well more than 1/2 way between them.
     

Share This Page

Loading...