1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

panny 5 - SVIDEO overrides Composite on AV selection

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by FaxFan2002, Jul 22, 2003.

  1. FaxFan2002

    FaxFan2002
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,098
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Andover
    Ratings:
    +109
    All,

    Anyone know a way of getting the Panny5 to display both SVIDEO and Composite. Essentially if you have SVIDEO connected it overrides Composite (according to the manual and in practice) - service menu??

    Basically not all my bits (connected via video switching amp) are SVIDEO or Composite.

    Another option I have is to feed my games consoles (gamecube and ps2) via a vga converter, however a quick look at this and it gave a very distored image (aka like using a TFT monitor).

    Robin.
     
  2. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,562
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    Hi Robin,

    Unfortunately that is a design fault of the Panasonics. They still haven't corrected it on the series 6. :rolleyes:

    Steve
     
  3. jhjerpe

    jhjerpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    682
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    North London
    Ratings:
    +58
    I use a VGA convertor from my XBOX on a Panny 5 series and it works great, no distortion at all.
     
  4. Darren Blake

    Darren Blake
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norwich, UK.
    Ratings:
    +15
    Stick a simple composite to s-video converter on the end of all your composite feeds, and route them using s-video.

    £5 from Maplins or £8 from Keene.
     
  5. FaxFan2002

    FaxFan2002
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,098
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Andover
    Ratings:
    +109
    the av amp doesn't have that many SVIDEO connections... but design is design fault I guess..
     
  6. tbrar

    tbrar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    User connectivity is a design limitation of the Panny plasmas. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...