Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

panny 5 - SVIDEO overrides Composite on AV selection

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by FaxFan2002, Jul 22, 2003.

  1. FaxFan2002

    FaxFan2002
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,422
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Andover
    Ratings:
    +159
    All,

    Anyone know a way of getting the Panny5 to display both SVIDEO and Composite. Essentially if you have SVIDEO connected it overrides Composite (according to the manual and in practice) - service menu??

    Basically not all my bits (connected via video switching amp) are SVIDEO or Composite.

    Another option I have is to feed my games consoles (gamecube and ps2) via a vga converter, however a quick look at this and it gave a very distored image (aka like using a TFT monitor).

    Robin.
     
  2. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +284
    Hi Robin,

    Unfortunately that is a design fault of the Panasonics. They still haven't corrected it on the series 6. :rolleyes:

    Steve
     
  3. jhjerpe

    jhjerpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    700
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    North London
    Ratings:
    +58
    I use a VGA convertor from my XBOX on a Panny 5 series and it works great, no distortion at all.
     
  4. Darren Blake

    Darren Blake
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norwich, UK.
    Ratings:
    +15
    Stick a simple composite to s-video converter on the end of all your composite feeds, and route them using s-video.

    £5 from Maplins or £8 from Keene.
     
  5. FaxFan2002

    FaxFan2002
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,422
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Andover
    Ratings:
    +159
    the av amp doesn't have that many SVIDEO connections... but design is design fault I guess..
     
  6. tbrar

    tbrar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    User connectivity is a design limitation of the Panny plasmas. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice