1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panny 42PW6 Connections - VGA configured to YUV

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by rsamdal, Aug 4, 2003.

  1. rsamdal

    rsamdal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could someone confirm that the 42PW6 VGA port can be configured to accept component video signals (YUV) ?

    My setup will look like this:
    DVD2900 Component -> AVR3803 Component -> 42PW6 VGA (configured to YUV)
    X-BOX S-video -> AVR3803
    Tuner S-video -> AVR3803


    What type of YUV to VGA cable do I need ?
    Links to a online cable retailer that ships to Norway would be nice :)

    Is there any reason for choosing the TY-42TM6ZC Component board instead of using the VGA (configured to YUV) port ?


    Roger Samdal
    www.samdal.com
     
  2. GAmbrose

    GAmbrose
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    812
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +62
    It certainly can.

    The only reason would be to have an extra component connection if you have lots of things.

    Gary A
     
  3. rsamdal

    rsamdal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. betamac

    betamac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats cool, i was thinking i was gona have to get like 2 Video boards for the plasma i plan on getting,

    Instead you are saying i can get a VGA lead to go from Plasma to my Sony DB-1070 AMP

    then plug My DVD player and Gamecube into Component on Amp?

    and get true Progressive Scan?>
     
  5. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,078
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,530
    Hello Roger

    PWD6 HD15 VGA socket - RGBHV or YUV, switched via on-screen menu.

    X-Box - if you want the best image and sound I'd look at getting a HiDef cable pack rather than using the AVR-3803 to up convert S-Video. (Not sure if you can get an X-Box to YUV cable or if its X-Box to RGB + a JS Technology RGB2YUV converter you will require; it may depend on you having a PAL or NTSC X-Box.

    Tuner - what is this and are you limited to S-Video out.

    Cables - VanDamme, Supra, BetterCables and others will all build this cable.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  6. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    betamac,

    I did not think that the Sony DB-1070 AMP had any component inputs or outputs...just composite and s-video :confused:

    Cheers, Lee
     
  7. chienmort

    chienmort
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Roger the cable you need will have a VGA male conector on one end and three or five BNC connectors on the other. The BNC connectors will have a red,green and blue lead and these shoulb be used for Pr(V), Y, and Pb (U) respectively.

    There is no benefit to using the VGA input over a component input card except that the component input card may have Phono(RCA) connectors and these are easier to interface with commonly available consumer cables.:lesson:
     
  8. betamac

    betamac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Damm ur right no Component on 1070 After looking at the manual it showed it did, but looking at the actual system and nothing :( Looks like gona have to do it the hard way

    It seems i am going to have to buy 2 Component Video boards 1 for DVD player and 1 for Gamecube grrrrrrrr
     
  9. rsamdal

    rsamdal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +0
    >X-Box - if you want the best image and sound I'd look at getting
    > a HiDef cable pack rather than using the AVR-3803 to up
    > convert S-Video.

    I will probably upgrade to this later, using the HiDef AV pack.


    >Tuner - what is this and are you limited to S-Video out.

    I must figure out what connections the cable tuner has.
    If the tuner has SCART w/RGB and the 42PW6 comes with one Scart adapter fitted, I probably use this combination.


    >Cables - VanDamme, Supra, BetterCables and others will all >build this cable.

    Send you an email regarding the cable.


    Thanks !



    Roger
     
  10. rsamdal

    rsamdal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +0
    After Joe Fernands reply, I located the Norwegian distributor for Supra cables, only 200m from where I work :)

    They had the right cable in stock for 550NOK ~ £45

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Loading...