1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

panny 42" pw4 - any good?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by chedmaster, May 2, 2005.

  1. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    i realise this is an old plasma but was wondering how good it would be compared to 37" pw7, as my dad has the pw4 and rarely uses it, he might be willing to sell it ;) .

    But if a pw7 is far better then ill go for that! other q's:

    how much is the pw4 worth? it has media thing + big input board (with 2nd vga i think, s video, composite, audio, and component)

    secondly, are there any specs (that mean anything - ie not gimics) in which they are miles apart?

    thanks in advance
     
  2. Enquirer

    Enquirer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have never compared them side by side (pw 4 and pw7) but the 7 is much better. the difference between a 6 and a 7 is big enough.
     
  3. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Actually the PW4 and PWD4 have much superior video processing to the newer SD pannys the PWD4 was the best they made, since then they have just been cutting costs with cheaper video processors and and PSU's (series 4 PSU doesnt fail like the 6 series one WHY? cause costs 3-4 times the amount to manufacture) A low hours series 4 is a great unit even by todays standards, much better than anything else you will get for £1000.
     
  4. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    wow thats good news, its quite low hours been used in the pub but we got rid of commercial sky ages ago and now all it has is an rf feed of bbc news 24 in the morn when my mum counts the tills!!! i literally just asked my dad if he wanted to sell it and said yes - £2000 i said half that (having looked in the classifieds) and you've got a deal!

    hes reluctant to sell for that low cos it cost about 3.5k, and we lost £2,100 on ebay (actually traded outside ebay - so not their fault) trying to buy a pw6, an awful lot of money to spend and not have a plasma!
    its an honour to have you post in my thread mr horny dragon sir :)
     
  5. Enquirer

    Enquirer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Horney i get your point about the build quality and signal processing but the panel itself is not as good in a few areas and the key point is how many hours use (been used in a pub)

    Second hand plasmas are not my bag and a grand on a second hand screen is still a reasonable investment.
    as always you pays your money and you take your chances.
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Knowing the history of teh scren is very important, as is seeing it running but as there is PWD4 owned from new by an ISF calibrator with original documantation i think thats a pretty safe bet...............its also a bloody stunning Picture
     
  7. Enquirer

    Enquirer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    I missed that bit? :D

    I agree the PW4 was a great screen and if it was as you describe in your quote i would be down to the bank quickly.
     
  8. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    i live in the same house as the screen has been since new, so i know the history of it, it is my dad's after all!, and it has had little use (we havent had pub sky for ages and its nearly 2 years old), how do i find out how many hours it has on it?

    ps enquirer, hornydragon was taling about piers's screen in the classifieds, i am speaking of my dad's screen, he is a publican, far from an ISF calibrator!
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Same as PW6/7 IIRC Ask piers he will know.
     
  11. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    just to clarify i want to buy my dad's off him for me :)
     
  12. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Buy It.................
     
  13. Enquirer

    Enquirer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    To get an idea how long it has been on you have to enter into the CAT mode then enter into the SD mode and look at the MTBF parameters (WT PT) I would not recommend you mess with the Hidden menus as you can easily mess it up .
    but if you want to take the risk (dont blame me if you screw it up)
    Here is how you access CAT menu

    Press and hold down the volume down button on the front panel and then press the status button three times quickly(within 1 sec) This takes you into the CAT mode.

    You then select the SD mode by UP and Down on the remote then press the action button on the remote

    PT is the cumulative Time for power on condition measured in hours
    WT is the power on counter.

    To exit the CAT mode access the ID mode and switch off the main power
     
  14. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    no its fine it was just curiosity, i thought it would be simple but nm! thanks for your help
     
  15. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Ched its easy mate just need access to front panel and remote.......hold down volume on front panel and press status button 3 times fast access SD mode and write down the numbers then press exit and powerdown.If it has been used in the PUB tar and nicotine build up would worry me (tar kills electronics) but it is your dad som i expect he wont charge you top dollar £700 for CASH?
     
  16. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    i expect i will end up paying a little more than that to get him to sell it, i don't have the money quite yet anyway.
    :rolleyes: if only
    *Must concentrate on decorating room first!*
     

Share This Page

Loading...