Panasonice Tuner box specs ?

Discussion in 'Panasonic TVs Forum' started by oaklandraiders, Oct 14, 2002.

  1. oaklandraiders

    oaklandraiders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +48
    Yo

    What does the new 5 model tuner box do.
    Does anyone have the web link as I cant get anything from Panasonics site.

    Does it let you do PIP, Text etc.

    Thanks

    John
     
  2. oaklandraiders

    oaklandraiders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +48
    Yo

    Oh and does the tuner box work with the D5 - charcoal one.

    THanks

    john
     
  3. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +733
    Its a very interesting question and I too woul be interested in the answer.. I saw on another post that the tuner also has 'SCART' inputs which will accept RGB.

    If this is the case then it might be a worthwhile investment, as you won't have to buy a J.S Converter.

    Also, as it accepts 'SCART', I am wondering if it will then do 'auto wide switching', which is one of the current reservations that I have.

    I look forwards to hearing an answer to this.
     
  4. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jon, I have actually seen one of the tuners. Its looks great and has 2 RGB scarts and an svideo input. It wasn't turned on but I was told by the Panny dealers I was in that it does teletext, but doesn't have a twin tuner for PIP etc (What a pity). The remote was quite large and lets you do the switching etc so that's good. It uses a big D plug on about a 3m cable from tuner to screen. The dealer had the tuner but no 5 series screens (boo hoo). I've tried Richer Sounds aswell and their new computer system seems useless fo stock/ordering things. The new Panny 2002-2003 catalogue I got from the dealer has the tuner specs in it and says it has 500 page teletext type stuff!
    I'm hoping to order a PW5 and the tuner and the pedastal stand as soon as I can find someone who actually HAS THEM! (and I've still gotta persuade the missus)
     
  5. Jon Weaver

    Jon Weaver
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    6,186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +733
    Tell me about the R.S situation. I am trying to order a 42WP16 or a W5 and they don't have stock, but heir computers don't allow people to place a back-order.

    The big problem with the Tuner is the cost.. I have seen prices in the region of £600 and thats just too steep for a tuner (that I will hardly use) and SCART inputs.
     
  6. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,953
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,333
    Hello all

    Still to get the full SP on the new Tuner from Panasonic (TU-PTA600B) - as its only an 'accessory' for the D model 5 Series displays we have still to get anything other than a 'stand alone' purchase price of c£560.

    I believe the tuner will 'work' with the 5 Series D model (Charcoal) displays though you have to use up the 5xBNC connectors on the RGB input - this then precludes direct connection of a Component video input; much the same as on the 4 Series with the previous tuner. The problem then being that the old tuner was none too hot as a video switcher and many who purchased it found it better to not have it in the signal chain.

    I believe that those wanting to use the new tuner with the new 5 Series B model (Silver) display will specify the display with a Tuner Terminal to enable the tuner to hook into the display with its own proprietary cable - maybe someone out there has one of these new displays and can confirm this.

    Again I believe if you spec the tuner terminal on your B model display you loose the RGB/Component video input terminals.

    Best regards

    Joe

    PS RS and stock - now theirs an idea; tell everyone we can supply displays at way below the normal street price and then not supply them... starves the competition though :)
     
  7. klnc

    klnc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    385
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +36
  8. England100

    England100
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    and

    Panasonic TY-SCP15C03 tuner lead
    Stock: 0


    Price: £99.00 each
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice