1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonice E50 - how best to set-up?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by ShaunIOW, Nov 1, 2003.

  1. ShaunIOW

    ShaunIOW
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all

    I've just bought a Panny E50 and could do with some advice on how to connect it all up to get the best benefit.

    ATM I have the following 1x Sky Digibox, 1x Wharfedale DVD player, 1x Philips 24" W/S and 2x VHS recorders. They are set up with the DVD player going into one SCART on the TV, the Sky box is connected to the TV via the RF cable, and to both VCR's via SCART (1 from video SCART and one from TV SCART on the digibox), and VCR1 is connected to the VCR2 via RF, and the VCR2 to the TV via RF (the TV has one unused SCART atm was VCR1 but not now).

    Right, with me so far?;) I also plan on getting a 2nd Panny DVD player (probably S35 or F65), to make archiving from DVD-RAM to DVD-R easier and will drop 1 VCR and the Wharfedale from the set-up. This leaves: 1x Sky Digibox (2x SCARTS), 1x Pannny DVD (1x SCART), 1x Panny DVD recorder (2x SCARTS), 1x VCR (2x SCARTS) and 1x TV (2x SCARTS).

    Ideally I want to be able to record on the Panny recorder and VCR from Sky, and from the Panny DVD player to the Panny DVD recorder, and have the 2 DVD players connected to the TV via the SCARTS, and Sky box and VCR to the TV via RF (using a Y-splitter as now).

    My plan is:

    Sky to Panny Recorder via SCART to SCART using 2 into 1 SCART splitter
    Sky to VCR SCART to SCART
    Sky to TV RF

    Panny DVD player to Panny recorder via SCART to SCART using 2 into 1 splitter

    Panny recorder to TV via SCART

    VCR to TV via RF

    Would this work?

    1. Can I still use the Panny player to watch DVD's on the TV even though it's going through the Panny recorder first?

    2. Can I watch a DVD on the TV from the Panny player, whilst recording from Sky on the Panny recorder?

    Any other sugesstions?

    Another last resort option, is to keep the set up as is, swap the Wharfedale for the new DVD player (I like the idea of a 5-disc changer), and swap one VCXR for the DVD recorder, and get an LG DVD Burner for the PC (does DVD+/-, DVD/RW +/- AND DVD-RAM) and edit on there and burn top DVD-R. This is a last resort as I didn't really want to tie the PC up.

    Cheers for any help and advice.
     
  2. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    :eek: It's too early in the morning for such complex lists :)

    If I was doing this I would buy a 2 into 1 RGB capable splitter such as:
    http://www.lektropacks.co.uk/product/technical.asp?dept_id=112&sku=664
    This will enable you to have the S35/75 DVD player and Sky permamently connected to the E50.

    Sky TV Out > 2into1 > AV2 on the E50 and then AV1 > TV EXT1
    Panny DVD > 2into1 > AV2 on the E50 and then AV1 > TV EXT1
    Sky VCR Out > VCR In and then VCR Out > TV EXT2

    With this setup if the DVDR is recording then you can still watch Sky either through the VCR or via the RF circuit your planning.

    You will NOT be able to watch a DVD on the DVD player when the Panny is recording unless you get another splitter for EXT2 on your TV and have the composite output from the Panny player fed to that (as well as the VCR). I wouldn't bother personnally and instead just do 'copies' overnight.

    You could always put your second VCR back in between Sky and your other VCR, e.g.

    Sky VCR Out > VCR1 > VCR2 > TV EXT2
     
  3. mistersoze

    mistersoze
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Shaun,

    Where are you on the Isle of Wight mate?

    Im on the hunt for an E50 or 60 and could get no sense from Currys in Newport :rolleyes:

    Im looking to hook up the DVDR to Sky+ and my Infocus X1 - you got yours set up yet ?

    I also have HTPC but can't be ar5ed with faffing around getting to capture thru the geforce ti4200... let me know how you go with the panny old chap :)

    Glen (Bembridge)
     
  4. mistersoze

    mistersoze
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ooops forgot - does the E50 have a Firewire input?

    Ta
     
  5. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    No - the E60 does though.
     
  6. mistersoze

    mistersoze
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cool, ta Ras!

    Best play to buy a '60? or has that been done to death here ;)

    Much appreciate any suggestions:)

    Glen.
     
  7. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
  8. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +47
    Very far from it actually. Richer sounds has it for £229 or did anyway. For some reason dealtime and pricerunner now give cheapest as £241 so going up ??!
     
  9. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    The best price on Pricerunner for a Multi-Region Panasonic E60 is £348!
     
  10. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +47
    Sorry I realized after I posted this price is for the E50 of course
     
  11. dude1971

    dude1971
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The E60 is now available at Richer Sounds. The RRP is listed at £399 but they won't give a price on the website. Can someone pop in and see how much they have it for please!
     
  12. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +47
    Give 'em a ring!
     
  13. mistersoze

    mistersoze
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just called RS Soton - no stock on E40 or 60 - 2/3 weeks

    Oh well, ill have a hunt around :)

    Peace.

    Glen
     
  14. ShaunIOW

    ShaunIOW
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers for the reply.

    Not being able to watch a DVD on the player while recording on the Panny from Sky, makes it a bit pointless connecting up a 2nd so I've scratched that idea, as my E50 is MR anyway and ordered a LG DVD burner for the PC (it takes RAM discs) and I'll do the copying there.
     
  15. ShaunIOW

    ShaunIOW
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Mate, I'm at Lake.

    I didn't bother with Curry's. Mult-region Magic did the E50 for £259 + £10 delivery and it's multi-region and RCE compatible, Curry's price is £299 R2 only.

    I'm very pleased with it - recording and then editing out unwanted bits on the RAM disc (ads etc) is a piece of p***. I didn't need firewire input so this player is ideal for me, for copying onto DVD-R from the RAM discs, I've ordered an LG DVD burner for the PC - it takes DVD+/- R & +/-RW as well as uncaddied DVD-RAM discs for £93 inc. VAT
     
  16. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +47
    £93 ??!! I paid £115 for mine from ebuyer. Where is this from ?
     
  17. ShaunIOW

    ShaunIOW
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ebuyer, they do OEM and retail box versions.
     
  18. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +47
    Ahh you brought the 4020B then ? I've got the 4040B
     
  19. ShaunIOW

    ShaunIOW
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope, it's a 4040B, the 4020B is a 2x one.

    Ebuyer have 2 4040b's listed one OEM for £93 and one Retail version for £114 - the OEM one comes without the bundled software (I don't need it as I have software for DVD burning already).

     
  20. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +47
    Yep you're right. I don't think the OEM version was avaialble when I got mine otherwise I may have brought it though the retail version does come with some good s/w though
     
  21. amancalledchip

    amancalledchip
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    a company called www.Letsgodigital.co.uk do the above amongst others . the price you see is the price you pay inc delivery (next day if you order early in the morning) also if for any reason not satisfied, you can send it back as long as its within 30 days and the packaging is still good.
     
  22. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +47
    Thanks for the link but do they beat prices ?
     
  23. amancalledchip

    amancalledchip
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    they are quite competitive, but its the after sales that counts.I bought from electrocentre once, NEVER again, worst company ever.Ihad to pay p+p to return a defective unit!!!

    not sent anything back to letsgodigital yet but to offer the 30 day no quibble return ( not sure if anyone else offers it) they got to be ok,

    the pricing may not be the cheapest,( few quid dearer) but as i learnt in the past, with many things , after sales service means SO much more.

    Bear in mind within the prices , the price you see is the price you pay. it INCLUDES post and packaging

    as for price matching, never tried it with them.
     
  24. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +47
    Btw you probably don't know but does the E50 have a Band I/III multi-system tuner ?
     
  25. amancalledchip

    amancalledchip
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    not sure what a band I/III multi - system tuner is.

    Enlighten me

    can dig out the manual and know what i am looking for then
     
  26. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +47
    Basically I mean will it receive and so record tv channels other than the UK ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...