1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic500 live pictures!!

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by grasshopper519, May 31, 2005.

  1. grasshopper519

    grasshopper519
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I need live pictures of 500 42". Im chosing beetwen the 500 and PS42S5H. It would be great if someone could help me with this one! Maaany pictures! :thumbsup: Thanks!
     
  2. Stokesey

    Stokesey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Send me ur email address and I will mail u pictures of my wall mounted 500.
     
  3. mugsy

    mugsy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    668
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +20
    Any chance of posting them here for all to see? :thumbsup:
     
  4. Stokesey

    Stokesey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Happy to post up pictures............ if someone tells me how to do it!

    Thanks.
     
  5. Steve_P

    Steve_P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,338
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Ratings:
    +142
    You can either post images as attachments. Click on manage attachments under the submit reply button and follow the prompts. This method limits image size however.

    Another method is to host your images on the web say with your own ISP and then refer to them in your post with tags, e.g.

    [color=black][[/color]img]http://www.youraddress.co.uk/yourimage.jpg

    Hope that helps.

    S.
     
  6. Stokesey

    Stokesey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, I'm at work at the moment but will be home at midnight (ish), will post a couple of shots then.

    Thanks,

    Stuart.
     
  7. the highlander

    the highlander
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bonnie Banks O' Loch Lomond
    Ratings:
    +2
    or use THIS free hosting for images :thumbsup:
     
  8. Stokesey

    Stokesey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. xenole

    xenole
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    That "brownish" bit at the bottom on the screen looks rather off putting......... (the bit with the logo etc).
     
  10. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,386
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,497
    Is that a rainbow over the track on the 2nd pic or solarisation?
     
  11. des_pd_ tdi

    des_pd_ tdi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. Daipac

    Daipac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    658
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
  13. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    There are a few cosmetic issues with the PV500, the silver bit being one. It's also pretty big. They have tried to disguise the size of the speakers by giving it a very wide black glass border inside the bezel, it's about 35mm all round, as opposed to about 15mm on the panel models. Add the thick bezel too, and it's pretty imposing! Be prepared, the overall dimensions are close to a PHD 50"!!
     
  14. Stokesey

    Stokesey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The rainbow effect on the 2nd picture is just from using the flash, I'm thinking about dropping the plasma a few inches so that it virtually sits on top of the fireplace?
     
  15. fugsi

    fugsi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i like it alot ... where is your wiring if you wall mounted i thought it connects direct to plasma unlike tunerbox
     
  16. kumamoto

    kumamoto
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Watford
    Ratings:
    +17
    STOKESEY, what size is your panny 32' or 37' can't seen to figure out ?
     
  17. xenole

    xenole
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    He's probably got a plasterboard wall and is running the cabling behind that or through a cable slot cut into a brick wall............
    Going to be a load of cables with the Panasonic - i.e. tv ariel, Plasma power lead, couple of scarts or component, hdmi etc, so very visible if you don't do something like that (always best if you want a pro wall mounted look)
     
  18. Daipac

    Daipac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    658
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    kumamoto, after reading some of Stokesey's other posts, it is a 42" PV500 in the photos.

    It does look smaller than that tho but I think that is because the black surround around the screen is quite big ? Maybe ?

    I have to admit, I did a search after I saw the photos to make sure what size it was.

    I need to see one in the 'flesh' without a doubt.
     
  19. kumamoto

    kumamoto
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Watford
    Ratings:
    +17
    thanks daipac, i have placed an order for the 37pv500 with hispek, expecting delivery next week.

    I was concern about the plasma being too masive as i don't want the tv to dominate one part of the living room, that why i went for a 37'

    Can anyone comment on pq when connected to sky ?
     
  20. Stokesey

    Stokesey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is a 42" plasma and all cables are run behind the plasterboard wall, was a nightmare to do especially as I needed to run: power, HDMI, scart, phono, component, aerial, pleased with the result though!! The picture via component (especially when playing something like Monsters Inc) is amazing, the colours are something else!! Also through Sky+ the picture is very good, nothing to what we can expect though when they launch the HD service! Still haven't set it all up properly yet as I just haven't had the time.
     
  21. steddyman

    steddyman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    448
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    I can't get to any of those images you linked :(

    Oh well, I guess that saves me a few grand.

    Steddy
     
  22. tim k

    tim k
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    For one of the best spec plasmas around it looks pretty cack wall mounted doesnt it? that silver rim at the bottom looks like a plastic addon that would snap off with a small tug. Not a patch on the aesthetics of hitachis hd 42", or sammys sp50 dlp. although i do like the viera cabinet, but still nowhere near enough room on that for amp, sky, gaming, dvd player, recorder etc etc.
     
  23. alliwant

    alliwant
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think it looks cracking...saving my pennies as we speak, although we will prob be on 13th gen plasma's by then!! :(
     
  24. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +54
    is there any problems with mounting a plasma above a fireplace, even if you use the fire, lol

    Just a I see a lot of people have done this, I am about to, but want to make sure there will be no problems with rising heat.

    Cheers
    Taz
     
  25. Stokesey

    Stokesey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tim K, thanks for your kind words!!

    LOL......
     
  26. tim k

    tim k
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    no, i didnt mean to be so abrupt, (hard day at work followed by dentist please forgive!!). I would love one of the pv500's for its capability, but im just not taken by the silver rim, i think it would have looked nicer to stay in black and maybe the phd8 will be more up my street. but you have done a lovely job of concealing your wires, i know with my ex pw6 setup how hard it is.
     
  27. Lethal Lee

    Lethal Lee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    334
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Southwick, Brighton
    Ratings:
    +12
    I had a look at one of these (42") very quickly today. A Layer Cake DVD via HDMI did lok very nice!!

    However I agree with others it did look quite big, and it seemed to be quite a chunky depth to it to, the sales guy measured it at 10cm.

    What I really want to know, with any pictures if available too, is what is the depth once it is on the wall bracket, ie how far from the wall to the front of the screen, as the one I saw was just on the floor in the polystyrene because they hadnt had time to get it out properly and set it up. Again, the guy in the shop I was in, said he thought it would be 6-7" which seems a huge distance jutting out from the wall. What do people who have this plasma wall mounted think? Can anyone who has one help?
    Thanks
    Lee
     
  28. fdj

    fdj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    we are looking for some advice on the size and practibility of the panasonics. What sort of distance can you watch the 42" set from? We have a room where we would sit between 3 and 5 meters away. Would this be far enough away? Would a 37" set be better.
    Bear in mind that we have 2 kids so the room is for the whole family, not just for watching tv.

    Thanks in advance.

    PS where can we see these beasts in the flesh?

    fdj :lease:
     
  29. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +54
    anyone please.

    Taz
     
  30. xenole

    xenole
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    My local Dixons in Grimsby has one in, so I would assume Currys probably would if you want to view. My local Panasonic dealer has them in too......goin to have a good look on Saturday, but I'm more swayed towards waiting for the commercial screen as they do seem a bit bulky for wall mounting.
    You probably need to find a decent dealer to see one though as we all know the lousy inputs high street stores such as Dixons generally have.
     

Share This Page

Loading...