1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic Viera

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by olegna, Apr 14, 2005.

  1. olegna

    olegna
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, new to this forums. Can somebody help? What would u say the best picture settings are to view standard TV? I mean Sky+ and Sky Italia. Whilst I thoroughly enjoy the excellent picture quality via my Denon AV, I cannot say the same with TV channels. I know that contrast and brightness play an important part...pls help!!! Thanx :cool:
     
  2. phillfyspoon

    phillfyspoon
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +76
    u need to calibrate with a dvd. all THX dvd's have video test patterns on them.

    some i know of:
    star wars
    finding nemo
    terminator 2
     
  3. olegna

    olegna
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thx mate will try
     
  4. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    13,820
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,524
  5. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +199
    also adjust the settings in cinema mode and use this mode to view all of your programinng and dvds ect. Cinema mode gives the best alround performance once it has been adjusted useing Digital Video Essentials.
     
  6. samjet

    samjet
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +5
    i've read/heard about the DVE disc but gather that its not the easiest thing to use - and i'm not exactly technical

    SO

    does anybody have the disc and a viera (so they know the model in question to do the adjustments) who would like to come and see me and run through the whole thing??

    i'm in notts and you would be suitably rewarded :D

    if you've not got the disc but know how to use it i can buy one beforehand!
     
  7. olegna

    olegna
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    so if i have understood correctly, i should first install the DVE software via my Denon AV? and then adjust the settings on "cinema" mode. This may sound like a silly question. What is the actual effect of DVE on digital TV source???
    Thanks
     
  8. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +460
    dve isn't something you install....it's a dvd with calibration screens that you are meant to use to adjust your settings...but it is not easy to use ...i gave up on it becuase the guys voice is so bloody annoying :)
     
  9. olegna

    olegna
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thks mep, what is difference between THX and DVE pls?
    thks
     
  10. Timmy C

    Timmy C
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    4,396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +199
    I may be missing something here but if you use the DVE dvd (or THX set up patterns) to set up your display then surely that's just going to set it up for dvd viewing and I think Olegna wants to set it up for Sky viewing. I don't have a plasma yet but I know with my projector the settings for DVD and Sky are very different!
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    mep the mute button doesnt effect PQ.........
    ideally you need a TPG that will feed sat boxes with a TPG (test patern generator) more possible is a TPG with scart output.....GOod TPG are several thousand pounds and need almost the same amount of money to able to use them, thats where your local ISF tech comes in, £250-£300 they come equipped and trained to do all of that and will calibrate for each source individually....however the veira is a real pain to do as it has 2 chassis (far from ideal) but your local tech may be able to do basic set-up for £100 taht is sufficient
     
  12. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +460
    :D very funny mate!...actually i found the whole thing very annoying...aprt from teh big dipper ride and teh space shuttle :)
     
  13. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    you mean you werent rivetted by the guy talking about cars????? i watch that daily for an eye opener......
     
  14. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +460
    i never even got that far.......i'm probabaly to impatient...i just want to jump in and get tweaking
     

Share This Page

Loading...