1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic Viera Worries

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by iCEMAN87, Aug 29, 2004.

  1. iCEMAN87

    iCEMAN87
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    I will be ready for buying my 1st plasma screen in about a months time, and I have thought about getting the Panasonic Viera 42" screen with stand.

    The only problem is I keep reading problem threads about Viera's - in particular I saw something along the lines of "Sky+ looks terrible on plasma". As this will be the main source I will be wanting the plasma for, am I best leaving the Viera/Plasma and going for something else like a CRT?

    Sorry to sound stupid, but my initial (maybe misguided) thoughts were that Plasmas were meant to be the best displays around?

    Would appreciate some help on this!

    Thanks in advance.

    iCE.
     
  2. red severn

    red severn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    the viera very good
    sky very poor
    regards
    red
     
  3. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
  4. red severn

    red severn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    crt tvs very good
    sky tv very poor
    regards red
     
  5. SilverPenguin7

    SilverPenguin7
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    443
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    I use my Sky+ on my PW6 and like you was worried about picture quality before I got the unit. However, connected up via the rgb2vga convertor I have to say the picture for sky is far far better than I was expecting it to be. Yes some channels look worse than others but I honestly think 90% of the time its more than viewable. Either it really does make a huge difference how you connect sky to these screens or people are just being WAY to criticle about the quality!!

    I should think the Viera will manage nicely! :)
     
  6. Ianc

    Ianc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are an absolute hi-fi nutter and will spend £200 or £100 on gold scart leads to get best picture quality then you'll spot a weakness in Sky - but it wont be because of the viera.

    On My viera 42" with SKy+ on a 20£ scart it looks the bees knees, Ive had it for 4 mths now and Im over the moon. I thought PQ would be poor, was expecting it after reading on this forum, but I was stunned and continue to be.

    Im sure that with a rgb box etc it probably looks 5% better. But then you have a VGA cable running out the front of your tv ... I know what Id prefer.

    The Viera is stunning. If you're worried then go get a decent demo somewhere where they can show you sky thru scart.
     
  7. spook

    spook
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have sky+ connected to my PWD6 via scart and the PQ is great,
    just make sure sky+ setup is set to RGB,
    some Sky channels are broadcast at a low bit rate and do look less than perfect but this has nothing to do with the plasma.

    Spook
     
  8. red severn

    red severn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    why spend £2000 -3000 on decent screen and £10 -£20 on a cable minimizing
    its potentail.
    whats a good piture to some people is poor to others perhaps if people rated a sky (rgb) piture against dvd (rgb)with same cable in same av input you will find sky piture to be poor try it!
    regards red
     
  9. garyN

    garyN
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    just like the iceman,i'm buying a 42''viera at the moment i have a tosh wh08b with great pq,but it's a bit of a monster.might seem a brainless ? will the pq be better or worse or same.thanx
     
  10. Ianc

    Ianc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just trying to put it in perspective - Sky on a Viera out of the box looks great, same/better than my 100hz Sony Tube tv it replaced so its not like it looks bad or anything.

    But agree that you can improve it with more $$$ but out of the box its perfectly good and all your mates will go wwwwwwoooooowwwwwww not "urgh you spent 4k on that!"
     
  11. SilverPenguin7

    SilverPenguin7
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    443
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    Oh come on!! Yes, dvd is a superior picture (I tested black hawk down on sky and dvd myself to see just how much better it was) but for everyday viewing there is nothing wrong with the sky picture. I'm sorry but either you have had bad experiences for one reason or another or your one those ultra picky people. I mean are you really saying that unless everything you view is of dvd quality (and even that isn't great depending on the transfer) then you class it as a bad picture?

    The simple fact is, on a panny (and other makes too I'm sure) sky is more than acceptable for daily viewing. From time to time I'm even amazed at how good it can be. Did anyone ever watch My Big Fat Obnoxious Fiancee on E4? Some scenes of the house from outside at night were so sharp and clear I coulndn't believe what I was seeing (and thats with a 4x3 picture in 'just' - or smart - mode!).
     
  12. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    Gary,

    My business is based on calibrating display devices. I do it full-time and have therefore seen hundreds of different models, some well set-up, most poorly set-up. The latter are great - I can easily and quickly make a huge improvement and the customer is left with a huge smile on his face. The already well set-up ones can be more of a problem because the improvement is much more subtle. Some people are good at spotting artefacts, many aren't.

    A really well set-up RPTV can give a stunning picture, equally so can the right plasma fed the right signal. As you will know from the Tosh when you have an image of 46" you start to see all the problems of the source signal that probably aren't visible on a smaller screen (though if you get really close to the small screen and look very carefully they will still be there - from a normal viewing distance you just don't notice them).

    The early plasmas were horrid, the cheap current ones are still horrid but the expensive ones, well set-up, will match the best of RPTV. One beauty of plasma is that geometry will be perfect out of the box. Overscan probably won't be and there is an interesting thread running about overscan on the Viera - I am in touch with a couple of other calibrators and we are trying to find a solution. The Viera is a very good screen, is wife-friendly and easy to set-up, but if ultimate picture quality is the goal you can do better. The high def Panny PW6, with Sky+ RGB converted to VGA (and the VGA input is on the bottom of the screen at the back which makes it easier to conceal cables), DVD going component progressive scan is about as good as it gets (unless you want to go the whole hog and get a high def tape player or Euro 1080 receiver). Get this and you will have a better picture than the Tosh! Add in a Lumagen processor and it will be even better still.

    Piers
    www.homecinemaengineering.com
     
  13. red severn

    red severn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    silver,
    im not saying every thing has to be dvd quality but to say sky pq is very good
    /excellent is misleading i had the same discussion with dealer demoing pio 434 he later changed his opinion /statement to the best sky piture on a plasma im not saying hes right or wrong but i thought it was poor and to gave
    any one idea i thought hdmi piture very good/excellent .
    i think the viera dvb and analogue tunner built in rates as good
    regards red
     
  14. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,710
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +223
    My veira copes with sky quite well. YOu get some solaration and patchs of colur noise. you wont really notice it very often. it only looks bad to me because I am used to seeing sky on a loew nemos 32" crt!!!!!
    Buy the vierea. oyu waont regret it. :thumbsup:
     
  15. SilverPenguin7

    SilverPenguin7
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    443
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    And all I'm saying is to say its not good at all is misleading as well as with certain channels/programmes it really IS good!
     
  16. sherban2004

    sherban2004
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi ! I am having this problem for a while now and I decided to write to a forum, hoping someone may help me. Any advice is welcome !

    I recently purchased a Panasonic Viera Plasma TV ( model TH-37PV70PA, HD enabled). I also have a Fujitsu-Siemens laptop, Amilo A series, with ATI Mobility Radeon x700 on it ( with all the updated drivers). I connected them via a VGA cable and it worked perfectly. ATI Control Center had no problem recognizing the TV and all settings are available.

    When I tried, however, to connect them via a DVI-HDMI cable (Bandridge, 1 meter long), ATI Control Center didn't detect any new display and the TV screen remains blank. I tried various options, like Force TV, but nothing worked. The video board seems not to detect any new monitors via dvi-hdmi.

    I hope you can help me in this matter. Thank you !
     
  17. red severn

    red severn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    sounds like no hdmi handshake use vga or check computer for compatibility
    red
     
  18. Heavysalad

    Heavysalad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    704
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +91
  19. HEATHER SCOT

    HEATHER SCOT
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just bought a Panasonic Viera but cannot get the Panasonic 5.1 DVD home cinema system to play on normal tv. Can someone tell me what I am doing wrong? It plays with a dvd but not on SKY or normal tv.

    Any advice would be glady accepted. I might add that I am not a tv buff and think that you need a pilots license to read the manuals.
     
  20. kjt2004

    kjt2004
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,759
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +162
    Right

    I think from your post that your are trying to play the sound from your TV through your DVD home cinema amp? You will need extra cables if you havent already got them

    If so you will need
    1) audio cables(phono cables) red/white from your TV to home cinema
    or
    2) Optical or co ax cable from TV to Home cinema

    you should then be able to press the psuedo surround button on your cinema system to hear the TV

    Im afraid without model numbers that the best i can do

    However please read the manual on the home cinema im sure it will tell you how to do it somewhere

    regards
     
  21. nab1963

    nab1963
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    the latest vieras are pants on sd,pleased my px 70 has gone,good on hd though,i will not buy another panasonic
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2008
  22. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20,342
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,954
    I'm extremely pleased with my Sky+ SD through my TH37PX80B.
     
  23. mightynimrod

    mightynimrod
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,041
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Burton On Trent
    Ratings:
    +150
    Ive had a TH50PZ70B for nearly a year now and it's nothing short of superb on Sky+, on HD it's amazing.

    I love my Panny :clap:

    Your always going to get a mixed bag of reports on here, some saying it's pap - others saying it's ace.

    FYI i use a QED RGB scart lead and switch the Sky box to RGB.
     

Share This Page

Loading...