1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic Viera - PC Gaming

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by davegtt, Feb 22, 2005.

  1. davegtt

    davegtt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello again people. had a thought today, I can connect my PC to the Viera but not given it much thought until today BUT would I be able to use it for gaming? I play Counterstrike Source and wouldnt mind giving it a shot... I know TFT screens have a delay on them, anything over 17ms IIRC is of no use for gaming, just wondered how the Viera would cope, anyone get any experience of gaming with it?

    TIA

    Dave
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    should be fine mate give it a go use a screen res of 1280x720 or similar and ket panel downscale can try 852x480 but i think 720ish will look and play better.
     
  3. geeWcee

    geeWcee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +25
    Let us know how you get on Dave..
     
  4. davegtt

    davegtt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    right then, might give ti a crack. 1 last question then for any1 in the know with NTL. I have 2 different cables coming intot he house 1 running upstairs for the PC broadband and 1 coming straight into the front room for the TV. will I be able to unplug the TV and take the modem downstairs and use that cable? I can see that being my only downfall now as the cable upstairs wont be long enough to run all the way to the front room :) should be a top crack if I get it working. will report back with any findings. might do it when I get back from work. dunno got no heating downstairs so might be a tad cold until the weekend when the new radiators arrive.
     
  5. geeWcee

    geeWcee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +25
    Wear a woolly jumper and gloves and get cracking :D
     
  6. MilesR

    MilesR
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been seeing the specs on these plasmas and thinking that the max resolution would be 842x480 for a PC connection...given your comment hornydragon am I mistaken?! If so, then that really helps my decision making for a new TV :):)
     
  7. Kwozzii

    Kwozzii
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants
    Ratings:
    +16
    I plug a Sony Vaio laptop into mine with a res of 800x600 (laptop) and it looks great.....

    Kwozzii
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    plasma will accept resolutions much higher than the native pixel array and do a pretty good job with them....
     
  9. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    1280/720 goes particularly well as it's a 16:9 ratio, and often favoured by internal scaling software as it's also a yank HDTV resolution, at 60Hz. well worth trying, it looks excellent on PW7, PHD7, so why not the viera.
     

Share This Page

Loading...