1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic Viera 37PE30 - Does it accept 720p/1080i?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Tejstar, May 15, 2005.

  1. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    Just a quick question folks.

    Can the Panasonic TH37PE30 accept a 720p or 1080i signal (even though it will be scaled down)? There was talk of it not being able to even accept a 720p signal, is this true?

    I did a search and couldn't find a definitive answer. Thanks :)
     
  2. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +290
    It will be able to accept 720p/1080i albeit scale down to SD but it can't be referred to as "HD Ready" because of the lack of any HDMI/DVI connection and the fact that it wont display a minimum 720 vertical resolution.
     
  3. Steve_P

    Steve_P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,338
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Ratings:
    +142
    If I remember correctly from all the multitude of posts on the subject a few months back...

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=142381&highlight=720p

    The PE30's will accept 1080i but will not accept 720p via component, as you mention the 1080i would be rescaled to the native res of 852x480. 720p just produces a black screen, I think. As I say I haven't experimented myself but did read all the posts regarding the 720p/1080i issue.

    The VGA input under the front flap will accept the following:
    640x480, 852x480, 800x600, 832x624, 1024x768, 1152x870, 1280x1024 & 1600x1200.

    S.
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    I think the VGA will accept others as well.
     
  5. Steve_P

    Steve_P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,338
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Ratings:
    +142
    Ahh, I was just quoting the manual :) that had a big list of resolutions for the VGA connector.

    S.
     
  6. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    Well that's 2 conflicting responses already (from neilmcl and Steve P!) :D

    I know the VGA port can accept a number of resolutions but it was the component side of things I was most interested in.

    I was under the impression that Steve's opinion is correct (no 720p in component) - can anyone confirm this?
     
  7. Steve_P

    Steve_P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,338
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Ratings:
    +142
    I'm guessing that you missed MAW's comment and Scooby's comment in the link I posted? I get the feeling that these guys have first hand experience, I'd also trust Dutch's comments too. :)

    Tej, you could always give 720p & 1080i inputs a go a let us know for sure. ;) :devil:

    S.
     
  8. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +290
    Tejstar, I was just speaking generally with regards to SD panels accepting HD signals, I didn't know that the PE30 had a specific problem with 720p. I don't have first-hand experience with the PE30 so Steve is probably correct.
     
  9. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    :oops: I missed the link the first time around! :blush: Well that clears it up then!

    I just wanted to know as there's all this news regarding next-gen consoles (xbox 360 etc) and just wanted to know whether I'll have to upgrade my screen to display hi-def signals. And it looks like I'll have to... :(
     
  10. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    No worries mate. I was also under the impression that there should be no problem in displaying a 720p and 1080i signal (even though it would be a limited exercise on a sd screen).

    Why did the Viera have to be so quirky? :devil:

    Anyway, does anyone know if the new PV500 will support 720p & 1080i. I've heard rumours it doesn't support the latter? :confused:
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    on the HDMI input it will suport 1080i and 720p i would have thought via VGA too and can see no reason for not having the same on component, the PE50 and PV500 are very different beasts!
     
  12. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    Ok cheers HD!
     

Share This Page

Loading...