1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic TX36PB50 = Progressive Scan CRT?

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by zcaps57, Sep 4, 2001.

Tags:
  1. zcaps57

    zcaps57
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi.

    Does anyone know if "Panasonic TX36PB50" TV is capable of handling progressive scan?

    Does it have "component video input"?? (Please tell me it DOES have component video input, cuz if it doesn't Progressive scan is useless.)

    check here.<br /><a href="http://www.panasonic.co.uk/nw/products/product.asp?c=TX36PB50" target="_blank">http://www.panasonic.co.uk/nw/products/product.asp?c=TX36PB50</a>

    from the specs, it says that "Advanced Progressive Scan".

    I have "Toshiba 32ZP18P" and this does not do progressive scan. It is damn interlacing scans.

    It seems to me that only Panasonic's PG and PB series are the only Progressive capable CRTs in UK.

    It is ridiculous that PAL(european) does not have progressive scan capabilites.

    We want progressive scans like NTSC system!

    [ 04-09-2001: Message edited by: Amaris ]</p>
     
  2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,981
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,785
    Not quite sure if you know this but Loewe Aconda chassis is available with VGA input board. There is at least one member of the forum who sends a progressive scan signal to his TV this way.

    I have also done this myself on StereoStereo's dem unit.

    Gordon
     
  3. Tim Ashdown

    Tim Ashdown
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    595
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +80
    Amaris, I think you are in the same boat as me. The panny doesn't have component. I understand it doesn't need it as it de-interlaces the picture in the TV (although not as good as your average DVD). Gordon, the Loewe sets are excellent. I could be wrong but I think that the reason Amaris has posted about the 36pb50 is because 32" is still to small. Its only 4 inches but it does make quite a difference. Have you heard any more about the 40" Loewe. My next DVD is the Denon DVD-A1 when it finally arrives so I'm getting desperate for Progressive scan. At this rate I'm gonna end up forking out for the new Panny 42" plasma!
     
  4. zcaps57

    zcaps57
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sh*t....

    If it doesn't have component video input, what the hell is the point for progressive scan.... <img src="frown.gif" border="0">

    1. PAL does not support progressive scan.

    2. Region 2 (PAL) DVD titles do not support progressive scan.

    3. UK does not even have HDTV broadcasting system. (therefore no progressive scan is needed.)

    Only place when "progressive scan" comes into 'proper' play is where progressive scan display(with component video input!!), NTSC progressive scan DVDP(with component video output) and NTSC DVD titles are all matched up in this bloody country!

    Bloody.... the Panasonic TV's progressive scan feature is useless and pointless.

    Damn... do Japanese think Europeans are caveman, stupid or something ???

    Bloody.... I want Plasma! T_T<br />We want Progressive scan!

    It's bloody funny that I have SONY 9000ES progressive scan DVDP and loads of region 1 titles and my display does interlaced scan!!

    Hey, guys.... thank you for reply. <img src="smile.gif" border="0">

    [ 04-09-2001: Message edited by: Amaris ]</p>
     
  5. rimmers

    rimmers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Sutton Coldfield
    Ratings:
    +4
    The Panny TVs which I have the 32PB version does not have component video inputs because as stated earlier it doesn't need them as the TV takes any interlaced picture be it PAL or NTSC and converts it to a progressive picture. Therefore from the TV you can either select PAL 50Hz Progressive or PAL 100Hz interlaced or if its an NTSL signal 60Hz progressive or 120Hz interlaced,although with the latter it still says 100Hz but its got to be 120HZ.
     

Share This Page

Loading...