1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic TX36-PD50 - how to test the resolution?

Discussion in 'TVs' started by chobot, May 29, 2005.

Tags:
  1. chobot

    chobot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi!

    I've bought PD50. Maybe I was a little bit naive, but one of the reasons was the resolution.
    Now, it seems to me that the tube supports the high resolution, but the tv not.
    The question is: What is the highest resolution achievable? How can I test it? What input is necessary for it? Which device to use (e.g., can a computer be used)?
     
  2. Ysl

    Ysl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    833 horizontal
    2376 pixel per line

    from the Panasonic catalogue
     
  3. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    Hello Chobot and welcome to the Forum. :)

    Are you perhaps confusing "High Resolution" with "High Definition"?

    The PD50 is an excellent TV for the current system, but doesn't support HD.

    Any chance that you bought from John Lewis who have a 28 day "return if dis-satisfied" guarantee?
     
  4. chobot

    chobot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi!

    I've just read that this TV supports the resolution 2376 x 833. Does it mean it is only internal one? (I.e. used after some extrapolation? I.e. you cannot use any device connected to the TV which has natively some higher resolution than just PAL?)

    I would be really dissatisfied if this is true. But I wouldn't return the TV anyway ... it was rather cheap ;-)

    Any chance to solve it (like hacking / upgrading the firmware)?
     
  5. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    Got it in one ! :)

    The PD50 (like the PD30 before it) accepts a standard definition signal and uses digital processing to try to emulate High definition.

    Most people reckon it does a pretty good job of this. :thumbsup:

    If it was sold to you as "HD ready", then you have cause to complain for mis-selling. :lesson:

    Apparently the US version of this TV will accept HD, but I believe it involves far more than a firmware update.
     
  6. chobot

    chobot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    And what about some upgrade from Panasonic? Is it naive to hope that they would be able to upgrade some part of the TV to make it "HD ready"?
    I know that some vendors support something like that. What about Panasonic?
     
  7. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    Very unlikely, as they would much rather sell you a new one!

    Sorry. :)
     
  8. chobot

    chobot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The hope dies the last :rolleyes:

    If someone knows how to force this TV to consume HDTV input (maybe later in the future), please let us know ....
     
  9. chobot

    chobot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    A mod to convert the PD30/50 to HD was discussed in depth some time ago on the Forum (do a search).

    As far as I can recall, that article was a one-off and nobody else seems to be aware of what the mod involves.

    Even the author of the article was no help when contacted!

    I frankly think you're clutching at straws, but keep going as there are lots of us with this model who would love to update it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...