1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic TX32PH40 and NTSC gamecube

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by K.TroopA, Dec 28, 2002.

1. K.TroopA

K.TroopA

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all

I have been thinking about the ph40 for a few weeks now and really want to buy it so i can play my US gamecube via the progressive scan inputs. I have read that some guys here have this same setup and id like to know whats it like and if youd recommend it. is the difference between s-video and component video picture all that great for games?

Also id like to know when using progressive scan what mode the tv switches to? ive read in game manuals (metroid prime and 007 nightfire) its a widescreen mode, but is this a 16:9 image with borders or a normal full screen with 16:9 ratio. forgive me if this sounds muddled but im new to av stuff but learning fast ;) does this switching occur for all games and does it look right - i.e not stretched?

also what do games look like using the 4:3, 14:9 and other modes - would you ever use these?

seems there arent many crts atm that offer prog scan inputs, but the panny i found i like so some opinions from cube or even xbox gamers would be welcome :)

i also plan to watch dvds on this of course but gaming is my first love atm :D

2. jtorry

jtorry
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have just sent my set back. The set has horrible digital processing and despite the lovely image quality in terms of crispness and deffinition I couldn't stand the pixilation once there was movement on screen. There is also lots of colour bleeding and bad geometry. I could go on as to why I had to send it back. Also the set forces all prog scan inputs into widescreen.

3. K.TroopA

K.TroopA

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0