1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic TX32LXD52 Dog B******S

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by RyanK, Oct 15, 2005.

  1. RyanK

    RyanK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +38
    I have just set up my 52 and WOW!!!!

    If you cannot decide between the 500 and the 52, save yourself £400 and go for the 52.


    So far i am using the TV`s settings but the picture is WOW.

    DVD Component Via PAL Progressive and NTSC Non-Progressive is outstanding.

    MY 2 test discs are R1 Goldeneye Pre Titles and R2 Die Another Day Pre- Titles.

    Image is spectacular, NO blurring whatsoever.

    Sky+ Via RGB Scart. As you would expect not as good as above but still stunning picture.

    Pace Twin Via Oxygen 75ohm Scart. Ugh as you would expect FREEVIEW lets the side down. Horrible pixilation.

    Internal Freeview. Surprisingly this is quite a good picture. Much better than my external PACE Twin View FREEVIEW.

    As another member has posted as soon as you plug in the TV it tunes itself automatically.

    I don`t like the Auto widscreen mode. I find you have to tune to a 4:3 broadcast and select 4:3. Then when you switch to a 16:9 broadcast it changes correctly.

    Also you have to maually choose Component in and again change the Aspect manually.

    I hate Panasonic remote controls and Menus and they are as bad as i thought they would be. (Sony is best for remotes and menus)

    On the whole this is an amazing TV. I will post my pics tomorrow.
     
  2. sean5302

    sean5302
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +82
    Yes.

    Entirely agree.

    Matsush*ta Electrical Industry Co. Ltd are currently at the very top of their game.

    Where are we, precisely, in the UK?

    Shocking. And a disgrace. Completely.
     
  3. PhilipL

    PhilipL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +421
    I will agree with that, it is hard to imagine the 500 being better than the 52 picture quality wise as it would take some improving on. I have seen both the 500 and 52 on in a shop but the pictures are always so terrible from their feeds that I wouldn't have bought any make or model, let alone tell apart any picture quality differences if they existed.

    As I have the 52 now and the 500 is never likely to be sat aside it my living room for me to make a comparision it doesn't really matter if the 500 has an edge here or there if it is indeed different in some way, so I will never know.

    I think you'll find it even better once you tweak the settings a bit and certainly in my opinion a huge improvement in turning of the "dynamic" (I'd like to call it the "buy me I am brighter than the other TVs in this shop") setting. :)

    Yes Freeview is pretty horrible due to too many channels being pushed at the expense of the quality, it is the TV equivalent of DAB.

    This seems to be working okay for me. It seems to detect the wide screen signal and shows "Wide" briefly and I assume then doesn't apply any zooming even if the 16:9 footage is further letter boxed? On non-wide screen signals the options become 'Panasonic Auto' and then various zoom settings for manual control. The auto detects the edges and zooms in or out accordingly, although it can appear to get stuck but does eventually switch, I think this is just to stop erroneous switching.

    Yes I agree it is very impressive, can't wait to sit down and watch a good film on it.

    Regards

    Phil
     
  4. RyanK

    RyanK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +38

    Dynamic is HORRIBLE

    I`m using Cinema and Cool
     
  5. Woodywizz

    Woodywizz
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    10,942
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,316
    Ryan,

    Excellent, I'm glad you love the Panasonic :smashin:

    Can't wait to see the pictures.

    Cannot agree more with turning the dynamic well and truly off - I have my 500 on "normal"/"cool"/ sharpness right down with colour down slightly.

    Really pleased you've got your panel after being messed about by Empire.

    Matt
     
  6. RyanK

    RyanK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +38
    This screen is so good, when i was watching my test disc the pre-titles of Die Another Day. When the hovercraft smashes through the bell house and seems to be coming straight at you and falls over the waterfall. I DUCKED!!!!. :oops: I couldn`t belive it, even when i watched it at the cinema i didn`t flinch :eek:
     
  7. mjw123

    mjw123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,300
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +32
    My Pace twin on the samsung is dissapointing.....can't use on the TV tuner as I wan't the HD facilities of the pace twin. Shame these lcd's haven't got Hard Drive's on board !!
     
  8. PhilipL

    PhilipL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +421
    Hi

    Well the Panasonic isn't quite so good this morning after it woke me up at 2am :) I could hear voices and conversation coming from down stairs and wondered what was going on, as I woke up I soon guessed it was the TV so had to get up to switch it off.

    Turns out in standby the TV will switch itself on if another component comes on which is daft if you are recording something as you are more than likely not there to watch it! Is there a way to stop this happening (apart from remembering to turn it off completely), can't see anything obvious in the setup menus?

    Regards

    Phil
     
  9. RyanK

    RyanK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +38
    i`d never leave a TV in standby overnight.

    consumes too much electric plus if the TV shorts out say goodbye to your house and before you say anything i have had a TV that caught fire.
     
  10. PhilipL

    PhilipL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +421
    Hi

    Granted, but there will be a time when I or someone else forgets to flick the switch and then the set could come on, just would rather have it not responding to other equipment. The instructions talk about Q-Link being the mechanism this works by so I will try telling the TV the Q-Link device is on AV2 (which has nothing at the moment), hopefully that will do it.

    Regards

    Phil
     
  11. DaveAnderson

    DaveAnderson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ryan,

    the important question is....have you got over the 'wish I'd bought the 500 feeling'?

    Dave
     
  12. RyanK

    RyanK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +38

    i can say with my hand on my heart YES!!!!!!


    I`m glad i empire screwed up with my 500 and that i got the 52 instead. I have a cracking TV for £1109. I paid £800 for my 28" Sony Trinitron TV 5 years ago, so an extra £300 for a TV with a larger screen and HDTV ready is amazing.
     
  13. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,852
    Does the 52 have a computer input ? I was hoping to get one that I could connect my pc to via a proper PC connection.
     
  14. REALDEAL

    REALDEAL
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    hi m8 any pics , does it have a vga connection, cant seem to find it when checking specs
     
  15. RyanK

    RyanK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +38
    NO pc connection. for that you need the 500.
     
  16. RyanK

    RyanK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +38
    NO VGA

    it has 3 scarts(2 RGB), HDMI, Component, Audio(phono) in/out
     
  17. REALDEAL

    REALDEAL
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    what would be the best adaptor/cable to connect this to a pc , gather i would be using the hdmi on the tv so an adaptor and cablt would be needed to connect to the dvi on the pc.
    new to this so bare with me.
     
  18. BigJohnson

    BigJohnson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi guys
    Can anyone confirm what AV connectors the 52 has? Is it the same as the 500, ie component & HDMI?

    Thanks
     
  19. Funster

    Funster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Bromley
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's definitely got component and 1 x HDMI. See attachment for the rest of the details.

    It really is an excellent bit of kit. If it came in a 37" I would have probably would have bought it instead of my Toshiba. If they just could have included a PC input it would be superb. The 500 with all its SD card recording and gadgets isn't worth the extra £400.

    Glad you're enjoying it RyanK. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  20. SMcL

    SMcL
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    In my infinite wisdom I have been reading this forum for months and being a bit of a technophobe I took a lot of advice and plumped for the 32 inch Panny LCD about 3 weeks ago. Absolutely superb choice, so thanks - however I have 2 kids under 4 who like to play with controls. I now have "AV2" displayed on the screen permanently! How do I get this off? In the words of a famous person in distress - please help me you're my only hope...........
     
  21. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,852
    I think it will be the "i" button on the remote control that will toggle this display on and off.
     
  22. BigJohnson

    BigJohnson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ok, almost ready to buy the panny 52. Can anyone recommend a good surround system. Looking at the Panny HT520 - seems to have had good reviews?

    Thanks
     
  23. davidac

    davidac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    222
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Watford
    Ratings:
    +5
    I was interested in getting the LXD52 but a bit concerned about the low response time. The Panasonic shop quoted 16ms, is this correct? Is there any noticable blurring?
    Are Panasonic just being more honest about the refresh rate?
    Has anyone managed to use the DVI (or HDMI whichever its got) with a PC or do I need to spend an extra £300 for the port with the LXD500 (Panasonic must be joking).
    How good is freeview on this LCD?
     
  24. Adrian Hughes

    Adrian Hughes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    England, Birmigham
    Ratings:
    +8
    I have the 26" version of this LCD, and its amazing. the quality has totally blown me away. Freeview is perfect, and I have friends who have the Samsung 26" and they even said the Panny set is so much better.

    Im thinking of putting the 26" in the bedroom now, and buying a 32" for the lounge.


    Ade
     
  25. RyanK

    RyanK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +38

    it has a 14ms response time, and believe me there is NO blurring.
     
  26. Ramspeed

    Ramspeed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +24
    Hi all

    It was a close call for me buying an LCD - I plumped for the new Sony V32 over the Panny TX52/500 but mainly reasons of styling. They both have fantastic PQ. The best there is IMO. Interested to know if any of you guys have tried the Panny with games consoles. The only criricism I have with my Sony is that I get some very slight blurring (the background losing a little focus as it were) when I pan around in a game. There's no blurring at all in movies etc. To be honest I've yet to see an LCD that did not blur a wee bit with gaming.

    If you have any objective (lol) opinions I'd be interested....
     
  27. aks

    aks
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Harpenden, Herts, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    The manual says you can connect a DVI equipped PC to the HDMI socket.

    ebuyer has such a cable: DVI to HDMI.

    Also Lektropacks here.

    No idea whether they actually work, but hope to try someday!
     
  28. FlyingBig

    FlyingBig
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lisburn
    Ratings:
    +1
    Does this LCD suffer from the auto contrast feature that is on the Plasma versions?
     
  29. PhilipL

    PhilipL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +421
    Hi

    Not sure exactly what you mean? There is an auto contrast feature based on a sensor at the front of the set, but this only operates with the TV in Auto mode so you can turn it off, not that I have noticed it doing anything anyway, but maybe that is the point?

    For those asking about inputs it has:

    3xSCART (2 are RGB in and one is Video/S-Video only). Front S-Video in, and an HDMI connector at the rear.

    A handy tip, download the manual at http://www.panasonic.co.uk/customer-Support/download-centre.asp, that way you can find out all about it's features from the actual functional point of view, rather than the sales talk.

    Regards

    Phil
     
  30. m1ne5h

    m1ne5h
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I managed to get my 32lxd52 yesterday, and was simply blown away.
    To be honest I haven't really setup the tv in terms of contrast and it's currently set to normal settings, but the PQ was simply amazing. I chose this set over the Tosh 32wlt58 based on what I thought was a much better PQ on the Panny and I don't regret it one bit.

    DVD playback althought only for about 10 mins using Shrek was simply stunning. I have an NTL box, and the PQ is not bad, but nothing compared to DVD as you would expect again with the inbuilt freeview the PQ drops down a slight notch against NTL.

    On the whole the Panny is faultless but going to this from a 25" 4:3 Sony TV (10 + years old) maybe I'd be blown away by any upgrade :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...