Panasonic TX28DTM1 - Recording from DVB when TV off - How??

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by HamishDog, Aug 3, 2005.

Tags:
  1. HamishDog

HamishDog

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm setting up the following items for my mum. (Seriously)

TV: Panasonic TX28DTM1
    DVD-Recorder: Panasonic DMR-E55

The TV has a built in DVB (Freeview)

The problem is simple. When i set the DVD Recorder to record and then switch the TV off or put it in standby the signal to the DVD-Recorder is lost - i.e. the DVD-Recorder just records a blank screen.

Simply - how can she record from the DVB to the DVD-Recorder without having to leave the TV on all day? I must be doing something wrong but can't for the life of me work out what!

I'm quite techincally minded (i repair PCs for a living) and can set up a TV, DVB / Cable box, DVD Player and Video without any problems (normally) - as i have done in my front room many times.

Thank you.

2. JayCee

JayCee
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,345
    I tried to download the user manual from the Panasonic site but it's not listed.
    Have you read the manual? There is usually a page detailing which scart outputs the DVB and how to record etc........but there is a possibility you may need to leave the set on......dumb I know :confused: but I think going from memory that's the way certain Panasonic TV's are setup......whereas with a Sony IDTV I think it can be switched to standby and still output the signal for recording.

3. HamishDog

HamishDog

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been through the manual over and over. At the beginning there is a disgram of the front of the TV and it points to the light on the front stating

Indicator LED:
    Red Indicates Standby Mode
    Orange Indicates DVB system active for recording.