Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Panasonic TX26LXD52

Discussion in 'Panasonic TVs Forum' started by neidpath, Oct 22, 2005.

1. neidpath

neidpath
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am a newbie and so my questions no doubt will seem quite naive, but I would be greatful for some advice.

I have bought and am awaiting delivery of a Panasonic TX26LXD52 LCD hight definition ready TV. I also have a Panasonic DMR-E55EB DVD recorder.

Up till now I have been using fairly cheap standard Scart cables and I wonder if it would be worth while investing in more expensive and (hopefully) superior cables. Would it make a difference if I did upgrade.

My second question concerns another connection. Both units have Component Video connections and I read that to have the optimum quality when playing DVDs I should invest in a suitable cable. Again, can anyone advise if this is so, and if it is, is the Component video connection in addition to the scart connection.

I hope this makes sense. Would be grateful for any help.

Neidpath

2. Sicton

Sicton
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you've got component, forget SCART because component is much, much better quality. Don't bother buying expensive SCART cables, just invest in some quality component leads and you'll get the most out of the two pieces of equipment.

3. neidpath

neidpath
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you very much for quick response. Very helpful.

One other question though. Will the component leads also carry the audio signal, or does that need another connection?

Regards
    Neidpath

4. Sicton

Sicton
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1