1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic TX 32 PL10 Auto Widescreen

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Mike@#36, Mar 15, 2005.

Tags:
  1. Mike@#36

    Mike@#36
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +4
    I have my TV set to Panasonic Auto which detects when a prog is broadcast in widescreen and duly sets the screen as such (Via the satelite receiver). However if I record a programme on the VCR, when I play it back the screen stays in 4:3 mode and I have to manually change to 16:9.

    The only exception to this is if I use the record direct from TV button on the VCR and then the system works fine.

    Does anyone know why this is or if there is a way of correcting it etc.

    Thanks all
     
  2. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    Hello Mike and welcome to the Forum. :)

    A widescreen broadcast carries a "flag" to tell the Panny auto system to switch to 16:9.

    The VCR sends a signal on Pin16 of the Scart to tell the TV to switch to 16:9.

    It's difficult to tell without knowing your exact set-up, but I would suspect that this is the cause of the problem.
     
  3. Mike@#36

    Mike@#36
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks Tight Git,
    To clarify I have a Panasonic NV-FJ710B VCR and a TU-DSB31 Sat receiver with everything connected via Scart leads.

    TV AV2 to VCR AV1
    VCR AV2 to Sat VCR Scart socket
    TV AV1 to Sat TV Scart socket​

    If I knew which was pin 16 I could check it is connected. Do you know of any diagrams which would show this?
     
  4. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    Sorry, I was only replying in general terms.

    You could try swopping connections over.

    Might just reveal a problem with an input or scart lead.

    It seems that with your two different ways of recording, one is including the widescreen switching and one not.

    Perhaps someone else can come up with something more positive.
     
  5. Mike@#36

    Mike@#36
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks I shall give it a go and see what happens.
    I have also found this list of Scart pins in case anyone else is interested: (also got a diagram that shows which is which but can't seem to post it directly into this thread. I think it is attached as a bmp file - if anyone knows how this should be done please let me know)

    1.Audio Output Ch2 (R)
    2.Audio Input Ch2 (R)
    3.Audio Output Ch1 (L)
    4.Audio Ground
    5.Blue Ground
    6.Audio Input Ch1(L)
    7.Blue
    8.Switching Voltage
    9.Green Ground
    10.No Connection
    11.Green
    12.No Connection
    13.Red Ground
    14.Widescreen Ground
    15.Red
    16.Widescreen
    17.Video Output Ground
    18.Video Input Ground
    19.Video Output
    20.Video Input
    21.Ground
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    Mike,

    Just out of interest:


    Pin 8 switching voltage controls the auto-select feature of scarts.

    (That is, the picture from the DVD or VCR appears when you press "Play".)

    Pin 16 was originally used for blanking but is now the "Widescreen" control as previously mentioned.

    I think the other pins are self evident, but note that some of the cheaper scart cables are not fully wired.

    Hope you solve your problem. :)
     
  7. Mike@#36

    Mike@#36
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +4
    Tight Git,

    I have corrected the list above accordingly, presumably pin 14 is linked with pin 16 ?
     
  8. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    That's correct.

    Perhaps I should have added that the "missing" wires in cheaper scart cables are the red, green and blue feeds, so you can't use RGB with them.
     

Share This Page

Loading...