Question Panasonic TV Connectivity

Discussion in 'Panasonic TVs Forum' started by 99Doug99, Jul 18, 2019.

  1. 99Doug99

    99Doug99
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All.
    I've just purchased a BDT167-EB DVD player and SC-SB1EB-K sound bar and having problems with the set up with my 'old' TH-42PZ80BA TV.

    Sound is good from the DVD as it is connected directly to the sound bar via HDMI, but I cannot get sound to work from the TV when my Virgin Cable source is selected on the TV.

    The TV only has x2 HDMI sockets but no HDMI (ARC).

    Is there any way to re-configure the set up without ARC? Or do I need a more modern TV. :(

    Cheers All

    Doug
     
  2. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    24,147
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,651
    Pretty sure your TV has stereo RCA audio out and if the soundbar has an Aux input just use that.
    Alternatively use the optical out from your VM box to the soundbar if it has an optical input.
     
  3. 99Doug99

    99Doug99
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi JayCee
    Thanks for your reply.
    I have a 3 wire cable with the Yellow/Red/White (RCA?) one end and a 3.5mm aux connector at the other. If I just use the white/red connectors from my TV Audio out, will that suffice? Or do I need a dedicated 2 wire cable? The aux connector has 3 sections but do I need to use a 2 section stereo connector?
    Doug
     
  4. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    24,147
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,651
    Use the Red/White RCA's from the audio out at the TV end and the stereo plug into the soundbar.
     
  5. 99Doug99

    99Doug99
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks JayCee - I now have audio using the Red/White RCA connector.
    One observation however: When I disconnect the white, I lose audio. But if I pull just the red, audio remains unchanged.
    Does this suggest I am only receiving single mono audio via the White, rather than 2 channel stereo through both?
    Cheers.
     
  6. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    24,147
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,651
    Just realised you have the wrong cable, that's why you just have 1 channel.
    You need a 2 RCA to 3.5mm stereo minijack.
     
  7. 99Doug99

    99Doug99
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thought I might - Thanks again
     

Share This Page

Loading...