Panasonic TH42PZ80 thread -part 2

Discussion in 'Panasonic TVs Forum' started by Julie, Jan 29, 2009.

  1. markfawcett

    markfawcett
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +54
    Had my first experience of image retention with this set over the past couple of days - damn Now/Next banner on Sky HD box.

    Admittedly you have to be close to the TV to notice it, but it is there none the less.

    Very strange because I haven't noticed any when gaming on PS3, I use sensible settings (Cinema/Warm) and the set has done well over 200 hours :confused:
     
  2. rwniel

    rwniel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +232
    Image retention is likely at any time, not just within the first 200 hours or so (when the phosphor is likely to be at its most sensitive). It's the nature of plasma technology - some combinations are also more noticable than others, but it will fade in time.

    Robert
     
  3. Giblets

    Giblets
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +33
    Thanks, will look into this, looks like it seems to be more on DVD's (have an old Sony DAVS-300 connected S-video to scart). Have invested in a cheap mains conditioner/ filter to help protect my investment, so will see if that makes a difference when it arrives.
     
  4. Denarius

    Denarius
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks macvaio. I missed out by 2 days :(

    Never mind. Hope it helps someone else. :thumbsup:

    Enjoy your new Panny.
     
  5. asktoby

    asktoby
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I had (actually still have!) a Panasonic TX 36PB50, which is a 36in Quintrix CRT.
     
  6. kimosabby

    kimosabby
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gents,

    can I have a bit of quick help or link me to the right forum or pref both. Just got the Pan. Awesome for blue ray films and games using my ps3. Never seen anything like it.

    What can I hope for picture quality from my normal sky+ box signal for normal televsion? Whats the highest resolution that normal sky can display through the tv? The picture from sky seems worse than my old pan crt tv or am i expecting 2 much for normal sky.

    Also, whats the best cable configurations? I have my sky+ box going through to a pan dvd recorder and then the recorder is connected to the TV with a HDMI cable. The ps3 is connected direct to the tv

    many thanks

    Kimosabby:rotfl:
     
  7. osmangkobra

    osmangkobra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Normal (SD) content, like sky/freeview etc won't look as good as any CRT i'm afraid...CRT is still the best for SD material, not sure about the exact settings for TV but mine are:

    Mode:Normal
    Contrast 30%
    Brightness 35%
    Colour: 55%
    Colour balance: cool
    Sharpness: 50% (in the middle)
    Picture overscan: ON
     
  8. kimosabby

    kimosabby
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok many thanks for that; thats what I thought

    what resolution can normal sky play? can it do 720 or 1080i?
     
  9. choddo2006

    choddo2006
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    No no, normal SDTV is just 576i

    SkyHD is 1080i for HD content on HD channels and 576 for SD still (it will upscale but that makes no real difference)
     
  10. loggie

    loggie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have a question about connecting a sony vaio bluray laptop full hd with my (soon to be delivered) 42pz80.
    Can this laptop be used as a bluray player to display on the tv and how best to connect the two? If I connect the two with a hdmi cable will that mean the sound and picture will be output through the tv.
    Hopefully it will be as easy as this or is it more complicated?
     
  11. muscleflex

    muscleflex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    599??? info please!!!
     
  12. muscleflex

    muscleflex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    just read thru the posts.... kinda sucks i missed out on this deal... :-(
    anyone know of the cheapest price for this plasma?
     
  13. AlpsUk

    AlpsUk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    3,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Wellingborough
    Ratings:
    +888
    £699 from John Lewis. Get your local JL to price match JL Glasgow or phone up JL Glasgow and they can process the order over the phone.
     
  14. alexrose1uk

    alexrose1uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    266
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +19
    Are JL Glasgow still doing this? MK is currently priced at £850, and I'm willing to pay the bit extra for the 5yr warranty, but I'd be silly not to save the cash if I can!
     
  15. AlpsUk

    AlpsUk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    3,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Wellingborough
    Ratings:
    +888
    I ordered mine on Saturday from JL Glasgow at £699 and it will be coming from MK as that is my local JL. Worth giving them a call to see if it is still at that price.
     
  16. alexrose1uk

    alexrose1uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    266
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +19
    Will do! Who did you deal with in JL that would call up JL Glasgow to price-match? Seeing as we're using the same store, might be able to grab the same person :)

    Also was it 0141 353 6677 or 0871 432 3495 you spoke to JL Glasgow on (if you remember).
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2009
  17. muscleflex

    muscleflex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    thanks... trying them now.
    where did the 599 price come from then?
     
  18. alexrose1uk

    alexrose1uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    266
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +19
    John Lewis seem to do shop independant special, the £599 price was one of those, and I believe has gone about 2/3 weeks ago. £699 is still a brilliant price for this TV if we can get it!

    Will be giving JL Glasgow a call in about 10-15mins on my lunch, and will pop down to JL MK tomorrow morning one way or another, was tempted to buy today but ran out of time whilst checking the local shops, will be glad I did if I save £150! :)
     
  19. alexrose1uk

    alexrose1uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    266
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +19
    Have just confirmed with them, JL Glasgow are currently doing the set for £699. The lady at the other end was really helpful and did ask me if I wanted to reserve, but as I wasn't sure if they deliver and didnt have my card/available days for delivery on me (damned shift rota!), I decided not to, will have a word with JL MK later or tomorrow first thing :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2009
  20. AlpsUk

    AlpsUk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    3,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Wellingborough
    Ratings:
    +888
    It was the 0141 number.
     
  21. NatD

    NatD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doha - Qatar
    Ratings:
    +7
    Muscleflex - as per your PM, please see image below: -

    [​IMG]

    I've got the 42PZ80 mounted on a Cantilever stand that works really well. On the lower shelf I've got Sky HD, my Wii, and a Denon 1909.

    The middle shelf houses my Centre Speaker, and then on the little upper shelf is my PS3.

    PS - as you can see, I still have a few issues with Cable Management................!
     
  22. AlpsUk

    AlpsUk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    3,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Wellingborough
    Ratings:
    +888
    Love the stand. Can I ask where you got it from?
     
  23. muscleflex

    muscleflex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    thanks! can't view pics thru work.... will have to look at it from the iphone (blasted firewall!)
    so i guess this tv is definitely good for PS3 as well then?

    thanks for the pic
     
  24. NatD

    NatD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doha - Qatar
    Ratings:
    +7
    It's an FS205 Cantilever stand. I got mine from Allcam Mobile Products, but is availble from a few other online retailers.

    I love the stand - a little tricky to put together, but apart from that, no other problems. And for £150, I think it's decent value.

    It gives me the floating look that I was after, without having to chase my newly plastered walls out!!!!!!!
     
  25. AlpsUk

    AlpsUk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    3,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Wellingborough
    Ratings:
    +888
    I really like the stand but its a little over my budget. The wife wants me to get the £60 stand from Wilkinson which I dont mind but I dont think it will have the wow factor that yours does.
     
  26. loggie

    loggie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Anybody anything on this pairing? Thanks
     
  27. alexrose1uk

    alexrose1uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    266
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +19
    Well, after having checked the price with JL earlier today tried to ring JL MK. Got the main part of the store and got the number for undersales. Tried to ring undersales but got the answerphone; have left most of the details but they have my telephone number and name incase they need to ask any other details. Also dropped them an email via the website asking them to pricematch thier Glasgow branch incase I was given the wrong number for undersales (as I just got the answerphone and was told the were open til 6, I rang at half 5).

    Hopefully I'll hear from them first thing tomorrow, if not I'll pop down to JL MK about midday and see if I can get it all sorted out in store, rather than having to wait on undersales; price matching with themselves should be easy; and I dont want to miss this offer, especially as I work some funny rota'd hours which means I can't always get instore easily.
     
  28. osmangkobra

    osmangkobra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    i don't know about sony vaio's but i have a blu-ray HP laptop and i connect to the pz80 through HDMI...the sound has to be set to "digital output" on my Realtek HD audio manager and not the laptop "speakers" this is done easily by selecting in the toolbar "HD audio manager" icon then selecting "digital output".

    Now the picture AND sound is output through the TV, that's how i do it on my laptop...as i said vaio's might be different....be sure to select "1080p" on ur graphics card aswell.
     
  29. muscleflex

    muscleflex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    Can anyone pls post dimension of the box? Just want to see if it'll fit in my car if I get this delivered to work.
     
  30. Garry123

    Garry123
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +250
    Just bought this TV and have a few questions.

    1. I have it set to cinema, but the contrast down a notch and the brightness up a notch. Is this OK for running it in?

    2. Could I increase the brightness even more during the run in period?

    3. Is there anyway of getting the TV to stay on HDMI when it's turned on? At the moment it defaults to the internal freeview, which I never use.

    Solved this one, only one HDMI connection auto switches.

    4. I've heard there is a timer in the menu for hours used. Is this correct and where is it?

    5. There are appears to be a slight blurring or trail behind objects when they move. Is this normal?

    6. How can you tell the TV is outputting 1080p24?

    Thanks in advance. :thumbsup:
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2009

Share This Page

Loading...