Panasonic TH42PZ80 thread -part 2

Discussion in 'Panasonic TVs Forum' started by Julie, Jan 29, 2009.

  1. Julie

    Julie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Ratings:
    +706
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2009
  2. freddie123

    freddie123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
  3. teecee90

    teecee90
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +2
  4. alsina

    alsina
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +605
  5. Ananokki

    Ananokki
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Managed to get John Lewis to price match one of there other stores for £699, so rather happy here! It's being delivered next Friday, gives me time to work out where I'm going to be putting it.
     
  6. MINUS28

    MINUS28
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got a call today to say they have stock in distribution centre and have organised delivery. I had actually partly changed my mind, saw another tv (an lcd would you believe) that looked much brighter and appealing whereas the panny looked rather dull in comparison. Hope im not dissapointed when it comes :lease: Anyways, the next challenge is finding a black glass stand. As cheap but good quality as poss....anyone have any recommendations where I could find one reasonably priced?

    Cheers folks....hopefully there will be a price drop again in 28 days :D
     
  7. BlueWorldOrder

    BlueWorldOrder
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    TVS ST42B4L at Richer Sounds - HI-FI Separates, Home Cinema, Speakers, MP3 DVD Portables, Plasma LCD, etc.
     
  8. NatD

    NatD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doha - Qatar
    Ratings:
    +7
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 30, 2009
  9. Perrioli

    Perrioli
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +2
    I ordered one on Tuesday morning and got it on Wednesday. Pity I haven't a tv to put on it yet. Can't get the PZ or OX80 anywhere in N.I.

    TV Stands for 38" to 50"
     
  10. jpb82

    jpb82
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    800
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rugby
    Ratings:
    +18
    Hi

    Could any 42PZ80 owners possible measure the width and depth of the stand for me please, according
    to panasonic the stands depth is approx 32.7cm but i cant seem to find the width of the stand anywhere.

    One forum member told me the width was 45cm, could anyone confirm this for me please?

    Thanks:thumbsup:
     
  11. Dj1988

    Dj1988
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I too noticed that wherever I went the panny looked dull compared to LCDs however in defense of the panny: watching LCDs with their vivid colours and brightness may look impressive in the shop but practically at home you may suffer from eye strain and fatigue watching it that bright for prolonged periods. Colours sometimes arn't that bright and vivid in real life!

    We'll wait and see, I'm sticking with the panny (arrives tuesday!) on the strength of its reviews, even though on many occasions I found it dull compared to LCDs side by side.
     
  12. briane2021

    briane2021
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    are any of you new owners having trouble with the freeview tuner?if you have any devices connected to the hdmi sockets when the tv is turned off for a while then turned back on the freeview picture is breaking up bad,especially channel five.this usally sorts itself out after about 10 mins,but if a retune is run its fine straight away.doesnt do this if nothing is connected to hdmi.this is my second set doing this,so maybe its quite widespread.
     
  13. BlueWorldOrder

    BlueWorldOrder
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just took delivery from John Lewis... have it set up in Cinema mode (warm) and it is cracking! Thanks to all on here whose info posted on here helped me get it for £599... couldn't be happier :clap:
     
  14. thecremeegg

    thecremeegg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    At its widest point (the back) it is indeed 45cm
     
  15. osmangkobra

    osmangkobra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Good choice mate, it's just the "shop" settings of panasonic plasmas that make them look "dull" compared to over the top LCDs. Lucky i wasn't deceived by this. If you want an LCD look just switch to dynamic mode and crank up the contrast/brightness. (would recommend only for gaming)
     
  16. BlueWorldOrder

    BlueWorldOrder
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Is there a way you can set the colour buttons on the remote to change inputs ie. red - HDMI 1 etc. like is with Panny LCD's
     
  17. foulone

    foulone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Exeter
    Ratings:
    +28
    My panny has started to do 2 odd things.

    1) It sometimes forgets about half of my freeview channels - it tells me there are new channels, and gives me the option to do a channel scan - then misses off ITV,4, channel 5 etc....

    2) When im displaying full hd on the panel, if there is a scene of similar looking colour - say mainly white, the screen will flicker from white to black very fast in a strobing fashion.

    I'm about to ring Panasonic to arrange a replacement, anyone have any advice on describing the problems or what to expect from Panasonic?

    Thanks
     
  18. deski

    deski
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    TV arrived from JL - I JUST LUV IT!!! :clap::clap::clap:

    Does anyone know if you receive a letter concerning the 5yr warranty? Thanks!

    deski
     
  19. Lin3ar

    Lin3ar
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,858
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,779
    Your reciept is your warranty with JL.
     
  20. glagys

    glagys
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    still awaiting JL to phone to confirm when/if i will get delivery, but while i'm waiting i read somewhere that you need to "run in" the plasma,anyone shed any light on what i need to do to "run in" eg. settings, how long, etc.
    thanks
     
  21. alsina

    alsina
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +605
    If the tv is less than 12 months old, they will give you the phone no. of your local service centre in order to arrange for them to take the tv in for repair. Panasonic do not replace tv's, you will have to approach your retailer for that side of things.
     
  22. wedwivwage

    wedwivwage
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you get anywhere with the Freeview break up problem. I have the same fault (On second set) - I can get it to correct itself by unplugging HDMI connections - it's driving me nuts
     
  23. alsina

    alsina
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +605

    What quality of HDMI leads do you have? Have you tried changing them?
     
  24. wedwivwage

    wedwivwage
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Panasonic ones - I did have a non branded one for my Blu ray player but it didn't work for some reason so I replaced them - Blu Ray and SKY+
     
  25. DavidCane

    DavidCane
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    So photocopy it now, because if you need it in 4 years and 11 months time you may find that the original has faded. Then you'll be stuffed.
     
  26. MINUS28

    MINUS28
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What cables do you recommend fella?

    Not got Tv yet, but coming wed. Running sky + and ps3. Is top of the range necessary or do the less expesnsive do the job?
     
  27. macvaio

    macvaio
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    176
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Well i posted on the other thread about trying to get the £599 price without success i had settled on the £699 price was waiting for Undersales to call me to order the TV. I then got a call from John Lewis Solihull and they said we will match the £599 price. 2 days later got my letter through which stated the price match so called them up placed order and even though no John Lewis is local to me (all 2 Hours + away) i got free delivery

    Well happy got to wait until Feb 22nd for delivery but ok with me as moving into new flat on March 1st
     
  28. stephentw

    stephentw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,051
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +78
    Cheaper ones are ok over short distances but over long distances can be hit and miss. I'm using all relatively cheap hdmi cables aside from one, some were under a fiver and work fine.
     
  29. briane2021

    briane2021
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    its got nothing to do with the quality of the hdmi leads.its a fault with the tv.the tuner loses signal quality if you have hdmi connected to any devices,if nothing is connected the signal is fine.its the tvs inbuilt tuner that loses the signal not the device connected to it.this happens when the tv is turned off for a time then turned back on.
     
  30. briane2021

    briane2021
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    well i havent corrected it,but after about 10 minutes it sorts itself out.the px80 is having the same trouble too.this is my second tv doing this.its a widespread problem,the [people who are not having this problem have either got nothing connected to the hdmi sockets or are probally just watching sky through the tv.and yes youre right if you unplug the hdmi cables it sorts it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...