1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic TH42PW6 Questions

Discussion in 'Panasonic TVs Forum' started by EpsomJames, Jul 2, 2004.

1. EpsomJames

EpsomJames

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi all

I am new to the world of home cinema, having been stuck in the 4:3 age up until now. I've been browsing the Internet like you do, and happened to chance across this very informative forum which I have just signed up to.

Anyway, last weekend I took delivery of a Panasonic TH42PW6 plasma as my first step to home cinema heaven. The picture is much better than I expected however I have a few questions which I haven't been able to find answers to by searching the forum.

In the last day I've noticed a high pitched buzz coming from behind the plasma which wasn't apparent when I first set up the plasma. Of course I might have been blown away with the picture and size of the thing to not notice before. It is particularly noticeable whist watching the tennis. Is this normal?

I've set the brightness and contrast to 0 and sharpness to 3, is this too high for the run-in period? How long is the run-in period?

I heard mention of a hidden menu that allows you to see the operation hours. How do you get to this?

At the moment I just have a scart terminal board connected to a SKY+ box using a bog-standard scart cable. Does an expensive scart cable make any difference? Any recommendations?

Next stage will be a DVD player and component board.

Cheers
    James

2. Kopite4Ever

Kopite4Ever

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    im sure if you do a search on this forum in fact the 1st page you will find the best way to hook up your sky box ;)

3. sargetheboss

sargetheboss

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8