1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic TH42PV500 WAL (installed) + other kit some time soon...

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by stuartam_81, Jun 3, 2005.

  1. stuartam_81

    stuartam_81
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    just got my first plasma today a Panasonic TH42PV500 WAL

    this a pictorial of my experience installing it

    Wall mount kit:

    [​IMG]

    fixings ( 8 - M6 x 60mm ( 12mm drill bit ))

    [​IMG]

    i only used 8 fixings 5 on the top and 3 on the bottom row of the bracket these will be more than man enough to hold the screen.

    the work area:

    [​IMG]

    fitting the wall bracket wasnt that hard very messy but not hard

    the mess:

    [​IMG]

    bracket on wall:

    [​IMG]

    unpacking the screen:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    forgot to take pics of fitting the screen, mainly cus i was fitting it and didnt have a free hand, but will have some pics when i take it down to swap the cables in a few weeks.

    screen up and running ( the cables are a temp job for a week or so ):

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    will post more pics when i get the rest of my kit.

    best regards
     
  2. bkny

    bkny
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    fantastic pitcures!!! i showed my wife and she was very "impressed"!
     
  3. greyhorse

    greyhorse
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Messages:
    445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    wont do your screen any good with that fire on ! also if the fire is gas you didnt drill into the fire place flu, as a mate of mine did, nearly killed himself with carbon poison as the gas fire was leaking the fumes back into the room.

    Looks like you did a good job are you going to use a router to cut in to the plaster and re-plaster over the cables???

    Thanks for the box sizes, pick mine up from JL some time on sat :-0
     
  4. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    Excellent job :smashin:

    Do you plan to hide the cables ?

    And could you tell me the total depth of the unit from the wall please ?

    Cheers, Lee
     
  5. stuartam_81

    stuartam_81
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks guys,

    the fire is just for show, in the 10 years we have been here we have only used it twice :D i dont think i went through the bricks anyway as i only drilled 60mm and the brick plus plaster is about 115mm ( i hope ).

    i am going to build a shelf to hide the cables, the back of the shelf that goes againest the wall will have a big slot in it so i can poke the cables in there, also a better idea than chasing the wall as i will be able to change cable's when i want and not have to rip them out of the wall.

    the unit is 145mm from the wall to the front of the unit, when you install it dont use the cable guide's provided ( the 2 black ones in the bag with the remote ) as the screen wont go on the wall bracket ( they are just deep enough to stop it going onto the bottom part of the wall brackt )

    best regards
     
  6. ajbird

    ajbird
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Laceby - NE Lincs
    Ratings:
    +0
    excellent thread thanks!!

    we are about to add one to this wall (as soon as we move in and rip off that god awful copper thing) ....

    New house wall

    .....and was wondering how the hell it was going to happen

    great stuff you have been a lot of help

    anyone got any recomendations about height?
     
  7. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    14,054
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,596
    I want to mount mine over the fireplace, did you get a template for the bracket, so you know where the plasma is going to be when you have finished? I was going to cut out the plaster early so I could start pulling some wires through.

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=214995

    Also how long is the power cable?
     
  8. stuartam_81

    stuartam_81
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi mal,
    you dont get a template so i just guessed, mine could of done with being a bit higher but hay ho.... if you want i can measure the distance from the bottom of the screen to the bottom of the bracket if that would help.

    the standard power cord is 2m with 2 ferite rings ( one at each end )

    best regards
     
  9. banditash

    banditash
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lancs
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi put mine up on friday will show you pics but dont know how to post them can you Guys tell me how i put them on Thanks
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    go to manage attachments and upload them need to use the "Post reply" button not the "Quick reply" box
     
  11. banditash

    banditash
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lancs
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well will see if this photo works
     

    Attached Files:

  12. banditash

    banditash
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lancs
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi well got mine up on friday thats the panny TH42-PV500B it on a tilt wall bracket and here is the only gripe i have with the beast had it not had the lump that sticks out at the bottom rear it could tilt another 1" forward and if you are mounting it above a fire place then you do have to go a little higher so i think Panasonic should address this on the next update for this model
     
  13. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    14,054
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,596
    If you can measure thanks, and the bracket measurements.

    Can you also measure how far it sticks out t the bottom.

    Cheers
     
  14. stuartam_81

    stuartam_81
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    210mm from the bottom of the wall mount to the bottom of the screen, the tv stick's out 140mm, and the bracket stick's out about 50mm from the wall

    as for bracket measurments have a look at this, if you cant read it i can post a bigger version:


    [​IMG]

    best regards
     
  15. Wolfman310

    Wolfman310
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Very nice is that Stuey,

    Fingers crossed you get the rest of the kit quickly.

    Russ B :hiya:
     
  16. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    14,054
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,596
    Can't quite read it, can you post a bigger version, cheers

    Mal
     
  17. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    14,054
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,596
    The bit that sticks out at the bottom, is that the cable tidy , and can you remove it, and is it better left on when wall mounting it?
     
  18. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    14,054
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,596
    The best way to minimise dust is to hold a vacuum claner hose directly below where you are drilling, wife needed for this part.
     
  19. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,684
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +214


    Yes, it always helps to make them feel invloved with your new toy :D


    Some great pictures of installs here, would be good to post them in the get your Vieras out for the lads thread :thumbsup:
     
  20. stuartam_81

    stuartam_81
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    here you go mate:

    [​IMG]

    once i have all my kit will post some pics in the 'Vieras out for the lads' thread

    just got my speakers / amp / av cable's ( post pics in a bit )

    just waiting for some more av cables / speaker cable's, stands for the rears and stand for the amp / htpc / dvd rw

    best regards
     
  21. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    14,054
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,596
    Cheers again, does it not give you the distance, B anywhere (installation diagram)
    Is it about 125mm from the top of the bracket to the top of the screen?
    If so, that makes B 153mm

    just ordered my PV500 :clap:
     
  22. stuartam_81

    stuartam_81
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think B is just the center line, any way from the top of the bracket to the top of the screen is 130mm.

    regards
     
  23. stuartam_81

    stuartam_81
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    more kit arived today :D

    lots more box's

    [​IMG]

    after unpacking that lot i needed a drink

    here it is all on display in yet another temp setup, i hope the rest of my kit arives by the weekend so i can have a final setup ;)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    finally got some music on ( fed from laptop, not the best sound and also using very very cheep speaker cable till my van damme cable gets here, and only the fronts + sub )

    [​IMG]

    best regards
     
  24. banditash

    banditash
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lancs
    Ratings:
    +0
    I left the cable tidy off as it makes it essayer to put the plug leads in its the shape of this model that stops it being tilted a lot more forward if you are going to wall mount this plasma don't go to high up the wall
     

    Attached Files:

  25. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    14,054
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,596
    Thanks,

    I will be using the panasonic bracket so it won't tilt anyway.
    I know what you are saying about the shape but that's where the subs and stuff are at the bottom.
    You could dig a bit into your wall :rolleyes:
     
  26. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    14,054
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,596
    OK cheers, mine should be here next Wed, will get some pics up.
    Is your credit card on meltdown???
     
  27. stuartam_81

    stuartam_81
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh yea its just a big blob of molten plastic now :rolleyes:
     
  28. MrHux

    MrHux
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Stuart,

    Very impressed with you install, could you please tell me how much clearance is required at the bottom of the panel (for example how close to a fire surround could the set be?), i have yet to see the panel in the flesh so i am not sure if there is an access cover at the front of the unit. (bottom middle i'm guessing)

    Many Thanks
     
  29. stuartam_81

    stuartam_81
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks mate :D ,to be honnest i dont know what the minimum distance is from the bottom of the set to the fire, but my fire is just for show ( it works 100 % but in the 10 years ive lived here we have only used it twice )

    i am currently making a shelf that will go between the two to hide my cables so i guess if i do use the fire it will deflect some of the heat but i dont think i would risk it.

    there is a pannel at the front of the screen but it flips up so you could sit the screen onto a shelf ( big shelf thow, and not too secure )

    the best thing to do would be to contact panasonic either via email or go into one of there shops.

    best regards
     
  30. stuartam_81

    stuartam_81
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    a bit of an update, for all you guys.

    still waiting for my hifi and speaker stands but i think they have been delivered today and left with next door, also my cables ( van damme ) have also been left with next door today. just got to wait for them to get home :eek:

    my remote should also arrive this week its a Dell X50v PDA :D

    construction of the shelf is well under way and i will post some pics when i get a moment.

    other than that i think its enough for the update :clap:

    best regards
     

Share This Page

Loading...