1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic TH42PD50 with Shuttle PC

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by akvag, Aug 11, 2005.

  1. akvag

    akvag
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    I am buying a Panasonic TH42PD50 in the next few days.

    I want to hook this up to my Shuttle PC, as a HTPC.

    The 42PD50 does not have a VGA port, but can I purchase a DB15 to 3 connector component cable...http://store.a2zcable.com/v213-6.html

    Please advice.

    Thanks AV
     
  2. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    Wrong plasma to use a HTPC with. Best plasma for it is still definitely the Pioneer MXE1 in my opinion, but otherwise you need to look at the Panasonic monitors (42PWD7 low res and 42PHD7 high res)
     
  3. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Agree completely, Liam. Don't bother with a plasma where you have to bodge the PC input. Ideally it should be native on DVI at 50Hz for HTPC use, hence the recommendation for the Pioneer 433MXE1, even the mighty PHD7 cannot do this.
     
  4. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    I would run the Panasonic analogue not DVI, better/equal results and accepts 50Hz no problem.
     
  5. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    But I would run the Pioneer DVI as on that screen the DVI is absolutely wonderful!!
     
  6. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Just so, both are in front of me now, connected just as you say. From a scaler, not HTPC, but same principle holds. Yes, for signals accpted by the DVI, like XGA at 60Hz, you are very hard pressed to tell analogue from digital on the PHD.
     

Share This Page

Loading...