Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Panasonic TH42PD50 with Shuttle PC

Discussion in 'Panasonic TVs Forum' started by akvag, Aug 11, 2005.

  1. akvag

    akvag
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    I am buying a Panasonic TH42PD50 in the next few days.

    I want to hook this up to my Shuttle PC, as a HTPC.

    The 42PD50 does not have a VGA port, but can I purchase a DB15 to 3 connector component cable...http://store.a2zcable.com/v213-6.html

    Please advice.

    Thanks AV
     
  2. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    Wrong plasma to use a HTPC with. Best plasma for it is still definitely the Pioneer MXE1 in my opinion, but otherwise you need to look at the Panasonic monitors (42PWD7 low res and 42PHD7 high res)
     
  3. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Agree completely, Liam. Don't bother with a plasma where you have to bodge the PC input. Ideally it should be native on DVI at 50Hz for HTPC use, hence the recommendation for the Pioneer 433MXE1, even the mighty PHD7 cannot do this.
     
  4. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    I would run the Panasonic analogue not DVI, better/equal results and accepts 50Hz no problem.
     
  5. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    But I would run the Pioneer DVI as on that screen the DVI is absolutely wonderful!!
     
  6. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Just so, both are in front of me now, connected just as you say. From a scaler, not HTPC, but same principle holds. Yes, for signals accpted by the DVI, like XGA at 60Hz, you are very hard pressed to tell analogue from digital on the PHD.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice