1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic TH37PV500PED - Anybody know....

Discussion in 'TVs' started by salfordred, Aug 17, 2005.

Tags:
  1. salfordred

    salfordred
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    .... Is this set going to work well with the Sky HD, and will it play XBOX and XBOX 360 well ?

    Any other comments on this set will be very much appreciated as I am within 24 hours of buying this set.
     
  2. emporer

    emporer
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    8,077
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,640
    excellent set, will work pukka with both sky hd and xbox360. One of the best plasmas around, my 42pv500 is my pride and joy, hi def is just stunning
     
  3. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +681
    The PV500 series are fully "HD Ready" - and so should work with box XBox 360 and Sky HD. They have both HDMI and Analogue HD inputs, and cope with 1080i and 720p signals at 50 and 60Hz. The only potential caveat is that some early HDMI screens and some HDMI sources aren't brilliantly compatible in the US - though hopefully this will have been ironed out by the time Sky launches.

    The whole range seem to deliver great looking HD pictures - some of the best plasmas I've seen. Most people seem happy (though there is an ongoing "stuck" pixel issue documented elsewhere on hear that one user has suffered from)
     
  4. SimonMallion

    SimonMallion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also bear in mind that the PV500 only has one HDMI socket.
     
  5. kingsize

    kingsize
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,038
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +49
    and the hitach has 2 hd inputs - no switchers needed

    xbox 360 -DVI

    sky - HDMI

    DVD - Component
     
  6. salfordred

    salfordred
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Which Hitachi would this be ?
     
  7. pjskel

    pjskel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +124
    And which Xbox 360? The one coming in November is NOT going to have ANY digital video output - only analog via VGA or Component for progressive, and SCART for interlaced, as well as S-Video AV.
    So whichever set you buy (inc the Hitachi 7200), you'd better save some money for a separate component switcher unit, or buy a display with 2 component inputs at least.
    Better still, buy an AV Processor/Amp to do the audio and video switching.
     
  8. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +681
    Ah - is the Hitachi DVI input a DVI-D or a DVI-I one? Don't forget that DVI-I is analogue VGA compatible with a simple cable, so would be compatible with the analogue output of an XBox 360. Of course if the Hitachi in question is DVI-D only (i.e. no analogue inputs on its DVI input) - then the DVI input wouldn't be any good for XBox 360 connection.
     
  9. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +681
    Is the DVI input an analogue compatible DVI-I type (i.e. analogue AND digital compatible) - or DVI-D (digital only). If the latter then it won't work with the XBox 360 which is analogue only.
     

Share This Page

Loading...