1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

panasonic TH37PE50b

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by knobbs, May 15, 2005.

  1. knobbs

    knobbs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi ive got a panasonic TH37PE50b and i was checking the net for local prices and it comes up on most that this model is now discontinued.
    how do i know if i have the new g8 panel any help please.
     
  2. alliwant

    alliwant
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think its the one without a vga port and has a matt black finnish to the panel
     
  3. knobbs

    knobbs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the reply-been on panasonic site, says only one scart, some retailers say theres 3 scarts-bit baffled.
     
  4. pwarren

    pwarren
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have recently gone one of the TV's knobbs, and it definately has 3 scarts on the rear of the panel. It is the 'B' which I believe to be the UK model. I believe it is the latest SD panel from Panasonic so as to why its discontinued is a bit of a puzzle. Are you sure the 30B is not the one which is stated as discountinued.
     
  5. knobbs

    knobbs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi m8 not sure, got my panel yesterday very impressed just wanted to make sure its a new g8 panel.
     
  6. knobbs

    knobbs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi been in service menu it says on top panasonic, so so 02 2005.
    firmware.
    acq vo2. 08.00
    tdc v1 0500
    m2 gdi version 1.24

    which dont mean nothing to me, can anyone enlighten please.
     
  7. knobbs

    knobbs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi as i was saying only got it yesterday, straight out box pic quality was ver good compared to the 42 lg i had which i prob had a bad unit no solarisation even on low bitrate sky ch, it was impressive.
    tweaked settings a bit contrast down and colour down a bit.
    running sky on av1-dvd player on av3-have not got any component leads yet but will invest, dont quite understand the component bit, but will learn.
    will a jsv converter improve the panel even more.
    not tried pic quality on the freeview -my aeriel needs sorting.
    anyone know where i can buy a dve discs froim and are they worth the buy.
     
  8. Andywilliams

    Andywilliams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,078
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    notts.
    Ratings:
    +63
    Hi
    Knobbs would you do me a favour and just measure the exact width of the screen please.Will the new 500 series be the same size as the 50 series.
    Cheers Gonzo.
     
  9. knobbs

    knobbs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi m8 its 32 and quarter inches wide.
     
  10. Andywilliams

    Andywilliams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,078
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    notts.
    Ratings:
    +63
    Hi Knobbs Are you sure its only that wide.
    Cheers Gonzo. :)
     
  11. knobbs

    knobbs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    32 1/4 inches is the exact screen size total size of the tv is 38 inches hope this helps.
     
  12. Andywilliams

    Andywilliams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,078
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    notts.
    Ratings:
    +63
    Thanks Knobbs. :thumbsup:
     
  13. Steve_Whelan

    Steve_Whelan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    The 500 will be a few inches wider not sure by how much. It uses the same speaker set up as the old pe30, the PE50 reduses width by mounting the speakers under the screen.
     
  14. leeboy22001

    leeboy22001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,020
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +43
    thats the dimensions for the 42 in pv500, the 37in is 1038 x 670 (pe50 is 968 x641)
     

Share This Page

Loading...