1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic TH37PE30B 37" Plasma

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Shepski, Jun 28, 2004.

  1. Shepski

    Shepski
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. lazzer

    lazzer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the 42" version and am highly delighted with it thus far. :smashin:
     
  3. 540YMX

    540YMX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    I bought one 3 weeks ago and very pleased with it, very good picture from the NTL cable feed, built-in tuner is handy for checking teletext or if NTL have a problem.

    Hooked up to a Panasonic DMR-HS2 & Sony surround sound.
     
  4. shazbah

    shazbah
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Ive got the 42 inch and im over the moon with mine and also the envy of all my friends and family. Excellent picture
     
  5. Shepski

    Shepski
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    could I ask where did u get it from?
     
  6. 540YMX

    540YMX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Got mine from Richer Sounds, no problem with the general service but they can't supply the desktop stand which was annoying. Panasonic can't supply these direct for some odd reason and there seemed to be a shortage of them but fortunately I got one from http://www.hughestv.co.uk who had 10 in stock.
     
  7. Baz80

    Baz80
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +8
    I bought the 37 pe30 two weeks ago and am really delighted it is fantastic on sky+ and dvd and the digital freeview espcially is perfect although the cabinet was afortune it looks great ive never had a plasma before but this thing was worth every penny and ive been using my xbox through the front av and it never looked better i've been on the av forums for a few weeks before i bought and i so far have had none of the problems these guys talk about (greens and pixel drop out)
     
  8. Dannytuba

    Dannytuba
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is/was the exact same set that im looking for!

    Plan on buying in the next 2 weeks, im going for the floor stand.

    1, It turns out that ive bought a house with awfull TV signal! I would either need a 16ft aerial to use the built in freeview or just get Sky+! - That being the case is it worth me getting the PW6?

    2, Has anybody come up with a nice neat way of sorting all the cables at the back of a TV? - Went to my mates with a plasma and was knocked out with the set but there was mass of cables all tangled up at the back of his set! DVD, VCR, Sky, Playstation etc!

    Any help would be most appreciated

    Cheers
    Danny
     
  9. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,618
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +203
    her is a quick review of my pe30 just after I bought it.

    I am also going to post an indepth review after I have done 500 hours worth of watching. hope this helps




    Viera review
     
  10. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,618
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +203
    Sorry cant get the FU :censored: :censored: ng link to work.

    Run a search on the plasma forums for viera first thoughts and review and you should get the thread up. Hope it helps.
     
  11. Froggins

    Froggins
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just bought one but not set it up yet, can anyone recommend the best connections to a Sony DAV 500 surround e.g. scart or s-video (i haven't got much of a clue)
    I'm willing to pay good money for them!
     
  12. Steve_P

    Steve_P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,338
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Ratings:
    +142
    Got about 400 hours on mine now and still extremely pleased with the purchase :thumbsup:

    Froggins, if your Sony has component out then use that, if not then use RGB SCART.

    S.
     
  13. steveho

    steveho
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Dead chuffed with my 42 inch had it 4 weeks now,matched up with a dmre 95,
    think carefully about a 37 inch you might find it too small.


    steve
     
  14. red severn

    red severn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    i often wonder the size of other other peoples rooms i have room 5m x 4.5m
    and have and bought 37 which looks great how many of you have smaller and a 42 plasma?
    regards red
     
  15. Froggins

    Froggins
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Red seven,
    My big lounge is 6 x 6 and the 37" is a good size, the room is perfectly square and i sit right in the middle of the room! Depends where you sit and where your surround system is! i would find the 42" far too big and the wife would find being able to see the rovers return and the cabin in 1 screen far to confusing!!!
     
  16. Froggins

    Froggins
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    what are the best component leads you can buy?
     
  17. red severn

    red severn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    froggins
    totally agree so what size rooms have the 42 owners!
    i have often wondered if people are not running there plasmas in properly as i have none of the green line or other piture problems others state but it makes you think people are not researching there requirments correctly.
    regards red
     
  18. red severn

    red severn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    froggins
    ive tried a nordost optix £210 (i think its available £169) it was excellent
    but bought a mark grant cable £50 on most materail almost as good you will find him on this forum if you search ,i know theres negative advice on these forums but if you can you should audition cables yourself i sometimes wonder if people know what to look for or at least what they expect from a cable it will not improve a signal but you do not want to degrade a signal do you hence imho the better quality eguipment the better cables to be used.
    regards red
     
  19. Steve_P

    Steve_P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,338
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Ratings:
    +142
    It probably means you are sitting far enough away from your screen such that the plasma's dithering is doing its job properly. :thumbsup:

    IMHO if people see green dots tizzing around in dark areas they either A) Have brightness/contrast up too high or B) Are sitting too close to the screen. :)

    S.
     
  20. premiercomms

    premiercomms
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    I got my new Viera on Friday and just to let anyone unsure about the quality of the 37" Viera, its superb :thumbsup: I spent three weeks reading the Plasma forums and checking in the stores but I finally took the plunge and got it with the expensive stand as I set it up in the bay window.
    My friends and neighbours have been in to see my new baby and everyone comments on the excellent picture quality.

    A expensive purchase but I beleive well worth it, watching a DVD on staurday night was like going to the movies
    :clap:

    Just a quick note to all members who, without their comments and useful replies I don't think I would have made such a wise purchase.

    Now whats all this about " good cables ?" :D
     
  21. osmyth

    osmyth
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    278
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've had one for a couple of months and it is a very good plasma.
    However, there is a problem for sports fans. Quick panning sport doesn't look as good as a CRT, but this is going to be a problem with all plasmas and it's made worse by the low channel bitrate on Sky. BBC seems to be the best channel for sport.
    The remote/menus are nowhere near as slick as Sky.
    Generally, if you're not really buying for sports then thoroughly recommended.
    Owen.
     
  22. MrFurious

    MrFurious
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2000
    Messages:
    14,305
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cardigan Wales
    Ratings:
    +1,546
    ive had mine for few weeks now and i am getting used to it,i had a 100htz before and the transition between that and the viera took some getting used to,now i have set the contrast down and the brightness down it looks better,still looks a tad green in areas.
     
  23. MarkF

    MarkF
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are after a good deal on the Viera plasma range check out http://www.internettvsdirect.co.uk as they have some stonking deals at the minute. 37" and 42" with free glass stand and DVD recorder.

    Richer Sounds no longer carry the Viera plasma range, but they had good pricing when they did.
     
  24. Tonester

    Tonester
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Shhh... don't tell everyone - waiting till I can afford it!

    The basket confirmation doesn't seem to work on the site anyway.
     
  25. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,618
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +203
    Ok.
    Here are some pics of my Viera. All in all :thumbsup:
    Any questions on the set up, cabeling ect, I am always glad to help.
    David.
     

    Attached Files:

  26. MrFurious

    MrFurious
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2000
    Messages:
    14,305
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cardigan Wales
    Ratings:
    +1,546
    if i knew how i'd post some pics of mine too.
     
  27. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,618
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +203
    Save your pictures to your hard dirve on the pc. Then use "manage attachments "when you post your next thread. It is located in the additonal options part just below the white screen in which you post your replys :)
     
  28. Shakey21

    Shakey21
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    237
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I would like to get one of these but will it be compatable with HDTV, I've read a lot of stuff about this that is confuding.

    Also what about HDMI - does it support it?

    If I did buy this I'd want it for at least 5 years - is it future proof?

    Please answer in laymans terms.

    Thanks
     
  29. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +995
    In simple terms, the TV does not support HDMI and is NOT compatible with high-defintion broadcasts which should commence in the UK around 2006 (or now with Euro1080).
     
  30. premiercomms

    premiercomms
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    I got mine from Be-Direct, it had the free DVD recorder and their service and price was superb, I need some advice regarding connecting the panny DVD recorder though. Its shows in the manual to use component cables to AV4 but I'm sure I've read that you also need scart for the sound to AV4 does it mean I connect component RGB aswell as scart? as the picture is OK without the component cables.

    Hope someone can clarify this.

    kind regards
     

Share This Page

Loading...