1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic TH-42PWD7BK up & running !!

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by *ChrisB*, May 4, 2005.

  1. *ChrisB*

    *ChrisB*
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    310
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +11
    A big thankyou to all those that have given me advice over the last couple of weeks :thumbsup: (talk about a learning curve :eek: ) and another thankyou to those nice people at AV sales from which everything arrived as promised :smashin:

    The wall mount couldn't have been easier to fit, just needed some massive raw plugs & screws to reach through the plasterboard cavity & into the wall. I plugged in the component board, hooked up the new Pioneer 575a thru my Yamaha DSP-AX750SE, fired everything up, flicked thru the dvd settings to select progressive scan, popped in 'Nemo' and stood back in awe !!!!

    Absolutely superb :clap: :clap: :clap:

    My Sky/TiVo runs happily through the JS RGB>Comp converter also feeding the amp and to top it all off my VCR, PS2, Xbox & miniDV can be fed into the amp via the front S-video input as required :)

    So what I'm saying is thanks alot ladies & gentleman I couldn't have done it without you :blush:

    Cheers :beer: :beer: :beer:
     
  2. Peabo

    Peabo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Turn off progressive scan on the 575a. I have the same set up (PWD6 though) and the TV handles the prog scan MUCH better than the DVD player.
     
  3. *ChrisB*

    *ChrisB*
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    310
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +11
    Ok, so I assume I leave the Dvd player set to interlaced ?
     
  4. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
    yep, but try both anyway see what you think
     
  5. dazek

    dazek
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Messages:
    69
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi chris - mind passing on some of your learning curve!! what is a component board - when would you need one??

    cheers

    darius
     
  6. *ChrisB*

    *ChrisB*
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    310
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +11
    I can't really see any difference tbh, but I'll try some different films at the weekend :)

    Have a good search here on the forum as there are alot of very knowledgable people that have answered that question in much more detail many times, but from what I've learnt ..... alot of plasmas are more like a pc monitor straight out of the box (with a VGA connection) but they have slots that allow different boards to be plugged in to accept a range of sources via component, Scart, S-video etc have a look here for examples, however there are companies like JS Technology that make clever little boxes that convert for example a RGB scart signal to VGA.

    Obviously when your feeding a signal to a large screen you want the best possible quality & a component connection is one of the best. Have a look here for a much better explanation.

    Chris
     
  7. dazek

    dazek
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Messages:
    69
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks chris - understand now!! i have found that there is a huge amount of info on this forum and there is a lot to trawl thru!
     

Share This Page

Loading...